We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move Over Palliser”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Move Over Palliser”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I always used to stay at the Fairmont Pallister but was forced to stay at Le Germain during stampede week because it was fully booked. The standard room at the Germain is nearly double the size as the ones at the Pallister. Plus I find the the bathrooms at the Pallister are very small I don't have enough room to put all my make-up and curling irons. The bathrooms at Le Germain are huge, even in the standard room. There is plenty of space and a gorgeous shower. The Value for this hotel is way better then what your getting at the Pallister. The Pallister is completely out dated, the rooms are small and crammed. But at Le Germain there is plently of space, it is also new and very modern. I look forward to staying here in the next upcoming weeks, becoming a resident owner and trying out the new spa!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caye_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    201
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
76
358
41
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I've been at this property a couple of times before. The location is exceptional, only a block away from Stephen Ave and transit. Right across the street from Calgary tower and close to everything. Rooms are very modern and the hotel is kept clean. The attached steakhouse is excellent but not inexpensive, but that shouldn't surprise anyone. Staff is friendly and check in and out was fast. Included breakfast was OK and it is implied to tip the staff which I actually did because they do bring you coffee and keep your cup filled. Only issues I have is that the self parking is quite costly, around $30 for 1 night. Valet parking is complimentary so make sure you use that as it's still cheaper even if you tip. I would also recommend not spending extra for a deluxe room over a superior room. The only real difference is a tub. In the future when I stay I'll just stay in a basic room. A pool would be nice and their fitness room was quite underwhelming.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room it's best to not face the street. Ask for a north or west exposure but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slidebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Hello 9mmforever,

We wanted to thank you for the great review. We really do appreciate the feedback about the hotel and our staff. As you know, we have packages that do include valet parking. We are always happy to provide valet service as a convenience for our guests. The Fitness Centre renovations are almost complete. During your next stay, I know you will be much happier with our much improved Fitness Centre. If you need anything else at all please do not hesitate to let us know.

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Overall this hotel is great. Staff, location and comfort. The only complaint and the only reason why we wouldn't stay there again is that it is impersonal. Meaning, to charge for coffee in the room when your paying a premium rate a night is not right. Other hotels we have stayed at have been equally as beautiful but, have a nice coffee maker in the room for use, even a bottle of water that they don't charge $5.00 for. Parking that is included. Little touches like fruit or cookies at the front desk go a long way. This hotel has some things to learn about making your guests feel welcome!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teren_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello Teren_11,

We wanted to thank you for the review and the feedback you have provided. Our goal is to make every guest feel welcome. We wanted to let you know that we do provide complimentary coffee in our Central 899 lounge and in our breakfast room. We do not have bottled water in the rooms as part of our Green Initiatives. We are the only hotel in Calgary to be awarded with 5 prestigious keys as part of the Green Key program. We have water carafes in all guest rooms to encourage guests to utilize our clean water supply. We also have packages that do include parking that can be booked, particularly over weekends. Once again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again. Please feel free to contact myself directly for the next booking and we can discuss options to make your stay an even better one.

Thanks

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Beautiful hotel and beautiful people, I felt way too out of place. An incredible hotel - only minor complaint was the noise from the street, but wouldn't let that affect a future stay. Got into the hotel late (11 pm) but had called ahead to warn them so they wouldn't give my room away. Check-in was a snap, and the standard 12-noon check-out was very nice.

Will certainly stay there on future travel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arif_a786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was staying at Le Germain on business and found it to be a very business friendly hotel. It has a good, modern feel to it and the staff were helpful and polite. The gym was of moderate size but was well equipped and did not feel crowded despite being well used. Breakfast was functional but I really like the idea of a refectory style table in the middle of the room that can be shared by singles. I hate sitting at a table on my own at breakfast - the idea of a shared table is really good.

The bedrooms were functional with lots of electrical sockets and a modern feel. However, the lighting and decor made them feel very dark. One small point is that the sink in the bathroom did not appear to have a plug. Maybe it's the modern design and I just couldn't find it but it made shaving very inconvenient.

Overall a good hotel and I will stay there again on future trips to Calgary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsonsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hello JohnsonsCanada,

We wanted to thank you for the review and the feedback you shared. We are currently looking into additional floor lamps that will be placed in our guest rooms. We also have rooms that are South facing that create a lot more light. If you could contact me directly, We will ensure you are booked into these rooms for future stays. We also have sink stoppers available at the front desk, sorry you were not informed. Once again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My Fiancee and i spent a night at Le Germain when on a trip to calgary for a concert. It was an absolutly amazing experience from the moment we arrived. Loved the Modern decor and atmosphere of this hote. The room was beautiful and the massive rain shower in the bathroom was incredible. The most comfortable bed i have ever slept on, and they even have a place on their website where you can order the same beds, linen, and pillows. We had one issue with a ziplock bag of rotten vegetables that someone had left in the mini bar and the hair dryer did not work, both these were taken care of immediatly and a personally written letter and some chocolates were delivered to our room. Very impressed, BOOK THIS HOTEL! you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmontontraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSchaay1, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Calgary, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Hello edmontontraveller30,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate all the wonderful feedback. We wanted to apologize for the vegetables and the hair dryer issues. We were happy to read that they were taken care of right away. Once again, thanks for the feedback and please let me know if we can be of any assistance.

Mark Schaay
mschaay@germaincalgary.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in a deluxe room in March 2012. This is now our favorite hotel in Calgary. The room was high-end, large, clean, modern, and very nice. The bathroom was large and exquisite with a rainshower and a separate room for the toilet. The room is extremely well laid out and there is room for suitcases in the closet, as well as ample space for toiletry bags and travel items in the bathroom.
We slept quite well as the bed was very comfortable. Great value. We got a complimentary continental breakfast each morning which was very good, and wifi is free (wireless and/or cable). Valet parking was included in our package which was very handy. It is easy to get to by car, as 9th Avenue is on the edge of the downtown area. This also makes it a great location when leaving downtown.
In addition to the ease of access, this is also a great location for amenities. There are numerous restaurants near-by, including Charcut (in the hotel), Divino’s, Rush and Murietta’s. The East end of the Stephen Avenue Mall shopping district is only one block away. If you are visiting for the Stampede or a hockey game, the Stampede grounds are only a 15 minute walk or one LRT stop away. Whenever we are in Calgary again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,170 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
630 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Calgary

Property: Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Address: 899 Centre St SW, Calgary, Alberta T2G 1B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine haven of peace, Groupe Germain, pioneer of the boutique-hotel concept in Canada, has expanded its unique brand of hospitality into Western Canada with Hotel Le Germain Calgary. The Groupe Germain philosophy is all about authentic elegance.A welcome like no otherAt Le Germain Boutique-hotels, the goal is to create a warm, comfortable ambiance, combined with attentive, personalized service that is always accommodating, yet never intrusive.Respect for the environmentThe entire complex was engineered and constructed to incorporate several state-of-the-art features designed to conserve energy and preserve our environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing