We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service, modern rooms and close to downtown Calgary”
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Hotel Alma should not be underrated.

I booked there after the insanely high prices of hotels in downtown Calgary. I spoke to a person I met who was staying downtown at a 2.5 star hotel and was paying 300+ whilst I came in abit over $100 and I think this was a 3-4 star hotel in my eyes.

Based at the University of Calgary the college staff are polite, caring and very very professional. Their service was fantastic.

p.s their restaurant and food is improving. Keep working on it guys

The rooms are clean, new design (the whole hotel is new), flat screen TVs, free wifi and a very comfy bed. I got a euro room (a studio) and for 1 was plenty.

I know some people will be concerned due to the distance from downtown. But it is a 10 minute walk to the University train station a 10 min ride for $2.75 and you are down town.

Overall I love the idea of the hotel on a nice lush green campus and you guys are doing an awesome job running it.

Keep it up

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvSteR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 9, 2010

Hi AvSteR100! Thanks so much for taking the the time to write about us, and for your words of encouragement and your suggestions. I am very proud of our team and I am glad that you found the service to be up to your expectaions and standards. I'm pleased that you enjoy the setting on campus, and are in our court when thinking about our proximity and accessibility to the downtown. We continue to make strides with offerings in the Bistro, and and we thank you for recognizing that we have improved. We are always looking for ways to enhance our guests' experience, so thank you again for letting us know your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

A hotel on the campus of University of Calgary hence the name "Alma." Very small university "residence" sized rooms but very well appointed, modern and well designed. Similar to a European boutique hotel. Students man the front desk but very professional and the place is well-run. Bistro on the ground floor. One would have to take a cab to eat off campus. The location is the only drawback to this property.

Another plus, besides free internet, was free long-distance to calls to the US and Canada from the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pentangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 17, 2010

Hi!

Thanks for writing such a lovely review - we truly apprciate that you "get" what we've got! Our Eurostyle rooms are indeed compact, but we tried very hard to make them well-equipped and stylish and reminiscent of those small, chic, European boutique hotels, as you mentioned. We are very proud of our team, and have shared your comments on their professionalism - thanks again for noting that. We do hear you about being located on the campus, but we hope we somewhat overcome that with all the greenspace and recreational facilities we have here - sort of a mini-resort feel, maybe? We do have a CTrain station at the campus, as well as multiple bus routes that can get you to nearby malls or downtown within 15 minutes, but there is no doubt that we are smack dab on campus. We're glad you appreciated the complimentary wireless, local and long distance (to Canada and the USA - excluding Hawaii and Alaska); we like to help you keep in touch with friends and family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I had a pleasant stay of one night at Hotel Alma. The rooms were in a newly renovated (former residences I believe) UofC building, and the hotel is conveniently located for business at the University. The decor was stylish and modern, and the room had conveniences such as a humidifier, TV in both bedroom and sitting room, and a kitchen sink and bar fridge area stocked with coffee and lovely teas. There was even a nice view over the city. Parking is in a parkade located across a parking lot from the hotel. Complimentary breakfast included a good selection of fresh items.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daphne_crock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 17, 2010

Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience here with us; you seemed to have had a nice time, and we are very glad you did. We are in fact, a new build, completed late in 2009. Since the University opened in the mid-sixties, we tried very hard to give the building that mid-century feel, albeit updated and with modern technology! We're glad you found your one-bedroom suite tasteful. The teas you liked are by Revolution, and our coffee is fair trade certified and certified organic, and is locally roasted, ground and packaged for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Alma with a few of my friends, some in different rooms and we all shared the same basic experiences!
Our room even had food go missing and it was due to the cleaning staff who actually NEVER touched our room but did enter! We had to even go down to the front desk to receive toilet paper!
The beds are very hard and uncomfortable, rooms are very small, lack of hair dryer and lack of iron... I could go on and on with complaints.
Don't waste your money on these fools, go somewhere where they care for their guests!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirilJurgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed here for three nights while I attended a conference at the University. Hotel Alma was a great place to stay. The room was small but perfect for one person and the bed was SOOO cozy. I liked having breakfast every morning. I ordered dinner one night in the hotel but thought it was too expensive for what I got and it was heated up in the microwave.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishKPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 17, 2010

Hi there!

Thanks so much for your comments. We particularly like that you find the Eurostyle rooms so cozy. Our Eurostyle rooms may be compact in size, but we tried to think big when we were planning them, including custom-made pillowtop queen size mattresses (we do have king beds in our suites for next time!). We appreciate your candid commentary on the Bistro. We don't pretend that it's a full-service restaurant, as it clearly is not, but we have made some progress on the choices to better suit our limited kitchen facilities there. We are glad that you did like the European continental buffet breakfast that we include in the room rate - we think the smoked salmon is particularly yummy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This is a really lovely hotel and in a fantastic location, espeically if you know someone at the university. We booked a suite which consisted of a sitting room with lounge,TV and kitchenette area. Tea, coffee (really nice ones) were supplied and there is a small fridge too. The bed was lovely - king size, new and with a soft overmattress. The bedroom had plenty of room and included a desk and office chair. Bathroom goodies were great too. There is off street parking available at a reduced rate with unlimited entry and exit just across the road. The hotel only occupies a few floors of the hotel as the rest is student accommodation. Thre is a small shop in the foyer where you can buy basic supplies and a coffee shop in the lobby. We really enjoyed our night here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jammoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 17, 2010

Thank you so much! We are new and very excited about our hotel. The coffee in the rooms is roasted, ground and packaged locally, using fair trade certified and certified organic coffee beans. The teas are by Revolution. The pillowtop mattresses were custom-made for us, and the bathroom amenties are coconut lime verbena by Bath and Body Works.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Akaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#36 of 110 in Calgary
312 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 110 in Calgary
712 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $64 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and group meeting facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing