We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Alma August 29th through September 1st as we got the kid ready for year 2 at the University of Calgary.
The kid was playing ball for the Dinos in a tourney before she could move into her dorm, so the hotel's location right on campus was perfect for us.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The room is very clean and well maintained. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on. Plenty of space in the room. All essential amenities were available in the room (mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker). The staff were very welcoming and helpful on the couple occasions that I needed help. Parking would have been a hassle, but we had an overheight vehicle that would not fit in the covered parkade and were told to park right beside the hotel.
Not much to complain about, but if I had to nitpick, the bathroom sink was pretty much useless as the shallow bowl caused splashing all over the place, even with just a little water pressure. There were very few television channels available and none were in high definition, but since we were out and about most of the time, this wasn't much of a concern. The continental breakfast had very few items offered, but what was there was decent.
If I have to go back to the University of Calgary, and I probably will, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a west facing room on the 7th floor that had gorgeous sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello Road W.,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent visit to Hotel Alma and express your positive sentiments towards our property. We know what a hectic time residence move in can be and are happy to aid in making the process run that much smoother.

Thank you for your comments in regards to the bathroom sink and the television. We are working diligently to address these concerns and appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our guest experience. Our One Bedroom Suites are a favorite among our regular guests for all the reasons you mentioned in your review; comfortable bed, plenty of space and great amenities. We look forward to you soon becoming one of these regular guests and wish your daughter a great second year and a wonderful season playing ball for our Dinos.

Warm regards,

Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel itself was well maintained. It was hard to locate. Had to pay for parking when it is included in hotels costs in higher traffic areas. The room looked like a refurbished dorm and far too small for two occupants. The coffee machine was terrible and the breakfast was only served until 10am though check out was 12pm. Could here doors slamming all night.
Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hello Beth J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We regret to learn of your unsatisfactory stay and are very sorry that your visit did not exceed your expectations.

Hotel Alma was built as a new building which houses three floors of students during the academic year and three floors of hotel guest rooms year round. We are the first university owned and operated hotel on a Canadian campus.

We are disappointed to hear of the difficulties you experienced with your room. As in any hotel there are different room sizes, types and locations which may be quieter and or better suited to the specific requirements of each guest. We encourage you to allow us the opportunity to wow you with the positive experience typical of stays at Hotel Alma by choosing to stay with us again. Should you decide to do so we ask that you contact Hotel Alma directly and speak with the Front Office Manager on duty to make your reservation and we will be more personally assist you with your booking.

Once again we do apologize for the inconveniences you endured during your stay and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here recently at a relative's suggestion when we were in Calgary for the evening. The hotel was a little hard to find, (it's located on the university campus), but we were very happy with our experience once we arrived.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was small but clean and very well appointed. The bistro downstairs had good food. We had some pre-dinner appetizers and drinks, and the continental breakfast served there the next morning was definitely a cut above average with tasty pastries and real china and flatware.

I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Calgary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JN1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you JN1975,for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on your most recent stay & for giving us genuine feedback and a good rating!!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I thank you for your comments on the service provided by team Alma-we are very proud of them and will pass along your comments to them. You stayed in one of our Eurostyle rooms and we are glad to hear that you found the room very comfortable and that you were happy with the room aesthetics, cleanliness and the In-room amenities.I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed the Continental breakfast served at the Bistro Alma.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the immediate future.

Thanks & Regards,
Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Located on the U of Calgary Campus this property still has the feel of a University Accommodation. Halls can be a bit noisy at nights but the efforts to "European-ize" the facility into a Boutique Hotel were generally successful. Parking is a bit of a hike as were restaurants etc...Included breakfast and All in all it fit the bill and deserves thumbs up. That said what is it with Universities and parking charges?

Room Tip: Try to get close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KED3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you KED3 for taking the time to write a feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Alma and for giving us a good rating.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the Boutique feel of our unique property.You stayed in one of our Eurostyle rooms and we are glad to hear that you found the overall stay very comfortable and satisfying.I am also pleased to know that you appreciated the complimentary continental breakfast served at Hotel Alma.

Due to the fact that Hotel Alma is located on the University of Calgary campus, overnight parking is restricted to specific areas. Hotel Alma has been able to secure overnight covered parking space for our guests , helping to lessen the effects of the heat in the summer and the snow in the winter. This parking facility is located a quick 2-3 min walk from the front doors of the hotel. If special accommodation is required, we ask that you let us know, and we will do all that we can to ensure that you are satisfied.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the immediate future.

Thanks & Regards,
Team Alma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was invited for an interview at the local hospital. This room was booked and paid for by the inviting institution. They booked us in to the two bedroom studio. I doubt they could be that interested if they put us in to this.

It all started when we checked in. They had somehow misplaced our reservation. Thankfully they fixed it. We went up to our 2 bedroom apartment. I was completely shocked. It was like living in a dorm room again. Everything was done as cheaply as possible. The bed was likely a double size. Set up on a metal frame with springs stretched under the 2 inch mattress, just like a cot.

The bathroom is ridiculously small. And I didn't think they made showers like that anymore. I am 5'6'' tall and the shower head was shorter than I am.

There was a kitchenette with a fridge and microwave. Lots of cupboards which are completely empty. Make sure you bring your own dishes and utensils.

Parking is not at all convenient. You would think it would be in the parking lot beside the hotel.But instead you walk through that to the parkade behind it. Make sure you unload your car before you park.

I have never seen hotel keys like these. And if you lose them it's an additional $25 charge. You have to make sure you lock your door on the way out, because the doors don't automatically lock. And apparently housekeeping is not aware of this as I came back from a full day of interviews to find that the door wasn't locked, and anybody could have walked into the room.

If you are paying $35 per night, these rooms might be good value. But I highly doubt that's the charge. Needless to say we checked ourselves out early. I will never go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarissa u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Clarissa ,
We appreciate you taking the time to write us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We were extremely upset to learn about the negative experience you had during your recent stay at the "Seasonal Residence" section of Hotel Alma. We would like to take this opportunity to empathize with you as it is evident that you were not directly involved in your room booking and as such, were accommodated in a room type that did not meet your expectations. At Hotel Alma, we pride ourselves in offering exceptional service and we can assure you that the situation you experienced is an isolated one, based on the fact that you were not made aware of the correct information about our unique property.

During your visit this month, you stayed in the Seasonal Residence section of the building, which also houses Hotel Alma. These rooms, which include our Residence-style double beds, are offered during the summer as an economical option and are a popular alternative to the traditional, hotel-style accommodation. Please note that the amenities and furniture in this style of room are quite different from those offered in the Hotel Alma portion of the building as they have been specifically designed as student rooms.

It is our hope that you will one day return to Hotel Alma.Should you be looking for hotel accommodation ,we recommend that you try either our Euro-Style Room or One Bedroom Suite. Both of these room styles offer pillow top mattresses on a queen or king bed, a kitchenette with a microwave, coffee maker and mini-fridge, a desk with an ergonomic Zody desk chair, a 32-inch flat screen television and an MP3 clock radio. Also included are complementary continental breakfasts at Bistro Alma, Wi-Fi and Ethernet internet access, local and long distance calling within continental North America (excluding Hawaii and Alaska) as well as passes to all campus recreation facilities, including the Olympic size pool, Olympic speedskating oval, and the university fitness centre. The One Bedroom Suite also comes with daily turn down service which includes Voss water and Bernard Callebaut chocolates. We hope that the beds in these rooms, as well as the additional amenities included with our hotel rooms, will meet if not exceed your expectations for hotel accommodation in Calgary.

Our electronic keys, which come in the form of fobs offer more convenience than the traditional magnetic stripe key cards, which are less reliable and need constant re-programming. Also, these electronic key fobs are reused and reprogrammed for every guest's use which is why there is a cost associated with them. This is also why we encourage our guests to return the keys upon check out . The doors in our Hotel style rooms do lock automatically. Also, the individual bedroom doors in the two bedroom apartment units lock automatically, but it is only the main doors have been programmed in a manner such that they have to be locked on one’s way out.

Due to the fact that Hotel Alma is located on the University of Calgary campus, overnight guest parking is restricted to specific areas. Hotel Alma has been able to secure overnight covered parking space for our guests, helping to lessen the effects of the heat in the summer and the snow in the winter. This parking facility is located within a 2-3 minute walk from the front doors of the hotel. If special accommodation is required, we ask that you let us know, and we will do all that we can to ensure that you are satisfied.

Should you have an opportunity to stay with us again , we ask that you contact the front office manager on duty while making your reservation and we would be happy to personally assist you with your booking. We also encourage you to visit our website which, along with beautiful pictures, has information about our room types, which will help you choose your preferred space with the suitable amenity offerings. Once again, we hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the level of service characteristic of stays at Hotel Alma.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Room quite small but clean and quiet. Very quite air con. Located at the uni, it's very close to tram stop and walk across campus is pleasent. Breakfast was ok. Only negative was the wonky wifi (on the 6th floor)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was VERY impressed with Hotel Alma.

Beautifully decorated, wonderfully clean, very friendly helpful staff.

The room had everything you could want: bright lighting, multiple plug ins for charging devices, mini-fridge, microwave, espresso maker, wine glasses, water glasses, coffee cups, corkscrew, flat screen tv, curtains that keep the sunlight out, as well as fancy Bath & Body Works soaps, shampoo, and cream. There was also a very nice, free continental breakfast. The Bistro onsite has lunch and dinner available as well, but we did not try it out.

The only thing missing was a fan in the bathroom! We will definitely be back!

Room rates were reasonable, & lower than average for Calgary hotels, especially during Stampede week.

Heads up: parking is an additional $8 per day. Underground parking is available for regular sized vehicles, oversized vehicles park in the lot right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisybabe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaManagement, Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you daisybabe73 for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on your most recent stay & for giving us an excellent rating!!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I thank you for your comments on the service provided by team Alma-we are very proud of them and will pass along your comments to them. You stayed in one of our Eurostyle rooms and we are glad to hear that you found the room very comfortable and that you were happy with the room aesthetics, cleanliness and the In-room amenities.I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed the Continental breakfast served at the Bistro Alma.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Alma in the immediate future.

Thanks & Regards,
Team Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#36 of 110 in Calgary
312 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 110 in Calgary
712 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $64 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and group meeting facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing