We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great...”
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Ranked #73 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed September 29, 2011

European? Maybe eastern European, circa Cold War! The room was tiny and decorated like a prison cell. There was no closet, just a short armoire so my dresses and slacks had to be partially folded. There was hardly any counter space in the bathroom. The first day, the TV didn't work. The walls were paper-thin and I heard everything my neighbors did and said. The breakfast was bare-minimum. To be fair though, the staff was friendly and professional and the room was absolutely spotless. All in all, for the money, one can do much better in Calgary.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sfs1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 334 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

Hotel Alma was all I thought it would be and more! I was aware that the rooms were to be a little small, and yes, they are, but if you can get past that fact, it is a great place to stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful! The hotel itself is very retro-modern, and the rooms are very nice as well! It has quite a lot of amenities for a small room. The bathroom was very nice and they even carried Bath and Body Works complimentary shampoo and conditioner!

The Cons:
Aside from the smaller room, the downside was the fact that you have to pay a small fee for parking ($8 per stay I believe). It's not too bad, but I like FREE parking more! Also, the continental breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had, but it was free, so I shouldn't complain there. It would be nice if they added a few more items of substance to the menu. It says non-hotel guests pay $12.95 for the breakfast, which I find to be a bit high for what they offer. Otherwise, all was good!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a little overnight trip into the city to cap off our two week summer staycation at home. We booked the Hotel Alma because of the great summer special price $88 with a free breakfast! This was our first stay and probably won't be our last. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room is very funky looking with many high end appointments including, Bath and Bodyworks toiletries, several selections of yummy coffees and teas, and funky colorful furnishings. The only drawback of the room is that it is quite small. There is a rather large armoire and desk and they make the room fairly tight so if you plan to spend a lot of time in your room you may want to go for the larger suite with separate seating area, we didn't spend a great deal of time in the room so the european style queen room was adequate for us. The breakfast was lovely and a cut slightly above your average continental style fare. My husband was not fond of the parking situation as you are required to park in a parkade across the street from the hotel, but I found the walk from the car after a large dinner downtown was nice, especially given the lovely weather during our stay. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Alma.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank housekitty711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed 1 night in Hotel Alma in Calgary after we landed for our trip in the rockies. The hotel is situated in the university campus and is sweet and quiet. The service is nice. The room is very small but clean and for 1 night it was o.k.
Calgary became a big city and we took the car for getting to downtown. Very lively and full of restaurants - some are very good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dovrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend and two friends on a recent trip to Calgary and would highly recommend this for budget travellers.

Although small, the rooms are very modern and clean with everything you need on tap. The facilities on campus inc food court and gym/swimming pool (free of use) are also excellent as are the staff.

Tip, try Nicks Steakhouse & Pizza place nearby. Huge portions of brillinat food and faily cheap given the price of everyting else in Calgary !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSNLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryTed, General Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Hello, GSNLLondon!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your getaway with your friends. We're very glad you had fun while in Calgary, and we completely agree that Nick's is a real gem here in Northwest Calgary (we especially love the pizza and lasagna and the '70s Brady Bunch vibe!). Thank you so much for your comments on our team - we are very proud of them and we have passed along your comments to them. We're happy that you liked the Eurostyle rooms and felt that they had everything that you needed - we tried hard to maximize comfort and style in our compact but cozy rooms. Next time, if you wanted some more room, we do offer one-bedroom suites that are double the size - the ones on the south have bigger bedrooms, and the ones on the north have bigger living rooms. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I've stayed at Hotel Alma twice, both times in a One-Bedroom Suite. It looks exactly as shown in the pictures on their website, very nice and comfortable. The place was very clean and quiet. Front desk staff was fine.

I did not have the included breakfast because we had meals included with our conference, but from what I heard of others in our group who tried it, it used to be much better than it is now.

They have a turn-down service. While I appreciate the opportunity to ask for more tea or extra shampoo, the rest felt kind of invasive. I found it very strange on the evenings that I wasn't in the room when they came by... The curtains were drawn, nightlight turned on, radio on (weird) before 7pm -- there's still almost 4 hours of daylight left!!! I wish there was a way to specify what (if anything) you want done to your room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaOdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryTed, General Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Hi CanadaOdie!

Thanks for taking time to tell us about your visits to Hotel Alma. We are especially glad that you feel the website is an accurate representation of the hotel - we tried very hard to be as transparent and true to the product so that guests realize exactly what we offer, as we know how disconcerting it is when you get something other than what you expected. In terms of the Continental breakfast, we have indeed scaled it back to a more traditional offering of sweet breads, bagels, croissants, eggs, fruit, juice and coffee due to the spike in food prices in Calgary. In an effort not to raise room rates or forgo any of the suite of other complimentary offerings like free local and long-distance calling or free access to the UofC Fitness Centre, we opted to reduce the components of the breakfast to a more traditional version of the Continental breakfast. In terms of turn-down, we perform a standard version of turn-down in our suites based on requirements from CAA/AAA and Mobil ratings guides. These are done earlier in the evening when most guests are away from the room, in an effort not to disturb guests later once they have returned to their suites for the evening. As with any service we offer, if you have specific requests, we are always happy to oblige and can certainly make note on your guest history account - please just let us know next time you check in and we can add it! Thank you again for your continued business and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is clearly a converted University Residence. It is not a hotel you want to stay at with your family or to visit Calgary. It is only good if you are doing business ie, conference or speeches at University of Calgary. If you don't plan on being in your room much, it serves its purpose.

The rooms are very very small. Uncomfortably small. It is clear they were once a residence/dormitory room now converted. Rooms have a very small closet, a fridge and microwave.

Parking is a 3 minute walk away and 8 dollars a day. Use of U of C gym is included. The continental breakfast is okay - hardboiled eggs, coffee and toast or sweetened breads.

The staff are nice. The place is clean.

Overall, it only serves a purpose as a hotel if you have business on campus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgaryTed, General Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Hi mcc129!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your visit to us here at Hotel Alma. As we have compact rooms (which we celebrate and announce on our website), and as we are on a university campus, many people do think we are a converted residence, but in actual fact we are purpose-built as a hotel. The building we occupy also contains a separate student residence. The size of our rooms has been kept small as a smaller footprint is a greener footprint and we are a LEED building. We have tried very hard (and generally to much positive review) to effectively and efficiently space plan the rooms so that all the necessities and little luxuries we feel are appropriate are included in our Eurostyle rooms. For those who do wish to have some more space, we do offer one-bedroom suites that are double the size of the Eurostyle rooms for a modest increase in price (currently $35) - for your next visit I would suggest a north-facing suite as it has a larger living room (south-facing suites have a larger bedroom). Hopefully this helps clear up any of the concerns that you had as to the origins and design of the hotel, and we hope to have the chance to see you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#49 of 110 in Calgary
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#36 of 110 in Calgary
307 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $54 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and group meeting facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless internet, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing