We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Tall Disappointment”
Review of Calgary Tower

Calgary Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.50*
and up
Drumheller and Badlands Full-Day Tour with a Small Group
More Info
$110.47*
and up
Old West and First Nations Heritage Day Trip From Calgary
More Info
$110.47*
and up
Calgary Craft Beer Tour
Ranked #14 of 302 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located 191 metres above the downtown core, the Calgary Tower offers the best view in the city and is a must-see on any visitor's itinerary. On the Observation Deck you'll experience a spectacular 360° view of the bustling city, the majestic Rocky Mountains, the foothills, and the prairies.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not So Tall Disappointment”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having visited the Vancouver Tower earlier in our trip and staying so close to it, we thought that we would visit this attraction.
It was built in 1968 and with the rapid growth on Calgary, it is no longer the tallest building in the Downtown area by some distance. The best information is in the lift on the way up - there is nothing at all in the viewing area. There are no explanations of the areas/buildings or sights that you are seeing. The only clues are from those buildings that have their names written on their roof!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelaleucaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    883
    956
    423
    86
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Panoramic view of Calgary”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were only in Calgary for a day, so although it was raining, felt the Calgary Tower was a must. Pleased we visited - as Seniors, our entry fee was $14 each, which was OK. The view was great, although we missed the mountains due to the weather. I would recommend as a further enhancement to the experience, that illustrated directional information is provided on the viewing floor, so you know what you are looking at! For example, from a map, we worked out the "Calgary Stampede" area, but for visitors it would be extremely helpful to have this information provided. 2 of the pairs of fixed binoculars weren't working efficiently.
On a plus, the glass floor is another must - a weird feeling looking directly down hundreds of feet.
Think the interior was a bit tired and the gift shop was expensive. Found that if you make a restaurant booking and eat there, the cost of the ticket is refunded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's about $15.00 for admission for the day. That's pretty good. Some places that's just the entrance fee & if you go outside you gotta pay again. Anyway, every city seems to have a tower. We wanted to the the touristy things for one day & this is one of the things we picked. The view is great at the top of the tower. You get a better sense of Calgary as a city from up here. Also the lady at the gift shop was very friendly & knowledgable when we asked her some questions about the city. I made hubby get into the hurricane simulator but it didn't seem realistic. I expected it to levitate him a little at least. LOL. I'm kidding. Anyway, they have the clear glass floors & you can see them soon as you step off the elevator. Can you say vertigo? I couldn't make myself step on the floor but I did look down through it. There is a restaurant on the other levels but we didn't come for food, just the views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“360 Degree view of Calgary”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Worth doing at least once. Get a great panoramic view of Calgary.
Tip: go for a meal, light snack or a drink at the restaurant and the price of the entry fee to the top is covered.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to take pictures of the bustling Calgary city!!! The view from the top looking down was awesome!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vidya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary Tower also viewed

 

Been to Calgary Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing