We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with an annual pass.”

Heritage Park Historical Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.06*
and up
Heritage Park General Admission
More Info
$108.67*
and up
Old West and First Nations Heritage Day Trip From Calgary
Ranked #2 of 303 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: When you have the choice of everything from a thundering steam train to antique midway rides to beautifully preserved heritage buildings and homesteads, deciding what to do first isn't easy. Located in Calgary, Alberta, Heritage Park is Canada's largest living history museum, with hundreds of exhibits, rides, shops, restaurants and daily demonstrations and activities to keep the young and the young-at-heart captivated in the past. No two days at the Park are the same, so come back as often as you like for a history lesson you won't find in any textbook.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value with an annual pass.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Although we are Calgarians, we just discovered the value of the park this summer. One of the bonuses of being flooded out and losing our yard for our grand children.
One day entry is expensive, so maximize your time there. However, if you are going more than once, get an annual pass. Excellent value.
There is lots to do, you can purchase food and the grounds are lovely. Lots of walking though so wear appropriate shoes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carrie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi carrie808-

Thanks for your review! We have to agree that an annual pass is by a great value for guests who live in the city. We look forward to many more visits from you.

All the best,
The Marketing Team,
Heritage Park Historical Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,603
    661
    106
    28
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back in time”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

You feel like you are in another world with the old building and staff in period costumes. You have to visit the bakery for cookies or bread, and all the other building to learn on how things were done a 100 years ago.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Chantal L-

Thanks for your visit and review. It sounds like you had a great visit and we look forward to you traveling back in time with us again soon!

All the best,
The Marketing Team,
Heritage Park Historical Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing unique place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is special place. It doesn't have "cool" modern rides but it fully puts visitors back in time.
Real Steam Engines, Steam Boat, old fashioned rides, old fashioned shops, restaurants, theatre, schools, bars, old railway coaches, watch real work of a blacksmith, Gasoline Alley with a lot of old cars etc. Beside this a lot of animals. There are enough places specifically dedicated for kids.
Don't miss 12 pm theatrical show at the central square (it may start at the theatre and then moves to a central square.
We have been fans of this park for 4 years and continue buying annual passes (pays itself for 2.5 visits).
Open starting beginning of May till beginning of October.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ihor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi lhor U,

Thanks for your visit and review! We're glad you enjoyed your trip back in time with us and we look forward to many more visits from you.

All the best,
The Marketing Team
Heritage Park Historical Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“FUN!!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have been renewing our membership at Heritage Park Historical Village for years. There is always something fun to do and something new to discover. There are skits, hands on activities, friendly volunteers and staff. The food is excellent whether it's at the Wainwright Hotel or any of the cafes. You can even have the experience of bending an elbow at a saloon (kids can drink root beer, LOL!).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Gail C-

Thanks for your review! We always love hearing from our annual pass holders and we look forward to many more visits from you in 2014.

All the best,
The Marketing Team
Heritage Park Historical Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We visited the park in October so only the Heritage Square and Gasoline Alley parts were open but we really enjoyed our time there. There are loads of memorabilia items in the shops and the square is very well presented. Gasoline Alley was fabulous, anyone with an interest in vintage vehicles would love it. There is a huge amount of 'petrolania' there from way back and it gives the place a really nostalgic feel which we loved. The entrance charge for Gasoline Alley was $9 each adult and it was well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi 141 CathB,

Thanks for you review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we thank you for your visit.

All the best,
The Marketing Team
Heritage Park Historical Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Park Historical Village also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Park Historical Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing