We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it!!”

Heritage Park Historical Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.22*
and up
Heritage Park General Admission
Ranked #8 of 311 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: When you have the choice of everything from a thundering steam train to antique midway rides to beautifully preserved heritage buildings and homesteads, deciding what to do first isn't easy. Located in Calgary, Alberta, Heritage Park is Canada's largest living history museum, with hundreds of exhibits, rides, shops, restaurants and daily demonstrations and activities to keep the young and the young-at-heart captivated in the past. No two days at the Park are the same, so come back as often as you like for a history lesson you won't find in any textbook. Our operating season is from mid-May to early October each year.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I loved walking around the park here, the smell of fresh bread in the air, the humorous staff all around, and the inviting feeling you get..........what a great place to learn a little heritage. I would recommend taking the kids or grand kids . Its a good way to spend the day!!

Thank Allieoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi Allieopp1-

Thanks for your review! We have to agree that the smell of fresh baking in the air is a great highlight for visitors to the Park. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon.

All the best,

The Marketing Team
Heritage Park Historical Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"steam train"
in 220 reviews
"gasoline alley"
in 300 reviews
"train ride"
in 172 reviews
"candy store"
in 129 reviews
"wainwright hotel"
in 84 reviews
"step back in time"
in 101 reviews
"paddle wheeler"
in 75 reviews
"car museum"
in 68 reviews
"ss moyie"
in 42 reviews
"opera house"
in 31 reviews
"blacksmith shop"
in 29 reviews
"cinnamon buns"
in 46 reviews
"period costume"
in 26 reviews
"horse drawn wagon"
in 26 reviews
"ferris wheel"
in 51 reviews
"old west"
in 42 reviews
"old cars"
in 68 reviews
Filter

1,974 - 1,978 of 2,684 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a great day. Recommended by a friend of a friend..I am so thankful we went. Steam trains, train round house and museem, Riverboat ride, the "Caterpillar", ferris wheel, excellent lunch at the hotel....so much to see and do. If you going to Calgary don't miss this treat...and for you old farts there was gasoline alley!!

Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi Patricia S-

Thanks for your great visit and review! We're so glad you got the chance to travel back in time with us. We hope you'll come and see us again soon.

Have a great day-

The Marketing Team
Heritage Park Historical Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

It is like stepping back over a hundred years There are knowledgeable people in period costume to answer any questions you have about days gone by and how daily life was lived back then. Most of the buildings are not reconstructions but the real thing restored to their former glory. They have been brought into the park from far and wide so that a community from the past could be created. They did a marvelous job! It is a great education for the kids but adults will be just a fascinated. Every child will love a ride on the steam train - it's the real thing too!!

Thank gfree_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi gfree_63-

Thanks for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best-

The Marketing Team
Heritage Park Historical Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Superb heritage park , one of the best we have visited. We had a thoroughly enjoyable day and could have spent more time in the park. Look out for two for one vouchers which make the park very good value.

Thank phaleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi phaleds-

Thanks for your visit and review! We're glad that you had a great time with us and hope you can come back again soon!

All the best,
The Marketing Team
Heritage Park Historical Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

very nice for kids, but very pricey, get the family tickets they are worth it, so you don't have to pay for all the rides extra

Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageParkHV_YYC, Marketing at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi Daniel K-

Thanks for your visit and review.
We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We agree that the ride bracelets are a great value for guests to enjoy all that the Park has to offer. We hope you'll come and see us again soon!

Have a great day!

The Marketing Team
Heritage Park Historical Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Park Historical Village also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Park Historical Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing