We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time fun”

Heritage Park Historical Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.18*
and up
Heritage Park General Admission
More Info
$110.08*
and up
Old West and First Nations Heritage Day Trip From Calgary
Ranked #2 of 305 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: When you have the choice of everything from a thundering steam train to antique midway rides to beautifully preserved heritage buildings and homesteads, deciding what to do first isn't easy. Located in Calgary, Alberta, Heritage Park is Canada's largest living history museum, with hundreds of exhibits, rides, shops, restaurants and daily demonstrations and activities to keep the young and the young-at-heart captivated in the past. No two days at the Park are the same, so come back as often as you like for a history lesson you won't find in any textbook.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Old time fun”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well it really is a trip in time. Alot of what you experience is
is a walk down memory lane. Truly an experience for the
kids of today to see how we enjoyed the simple life.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, Marketing & Tourism Specialist at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Cindy Y,

Thanks so much for providing your feedback! We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Heritage Park Historical Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,616
    664
    106
    28
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Pierre
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Disappointed to say that for us this attraction was overpriced and completely uninspiring. We visited with our young family and were stunned at the entry prices, especially considering that there was a board outside informing us that several of the prominent attractions would be closed that day.... and that the heritage transport museum was a further 20 odd dollars each plus child entry costs....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VARH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, Marketing & Tourism Specialist at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Varh,

We’re sorry to hear that your trip to Heritage Park was not as expected! We are very conscious of our admission prices, and strive to offer a product that is a great value for the price paid. The cost for a family of six (2 adults and 4 children) with unlimited rides and admission to both Heritage Park Historical Village and Gasoline Alley Museum is $99.99 Cdn. during August (or $16.67/person).

As a Historical Village, the majority of our buildings, rides, and exhibits are actual pieces of history, not replicas – as such, we have very high maintenance costs to keep them in tip-top historical shape! We also house livestock, run a number of special programs, and maintain over 120 acres of urban parkland. This past August, two of our historic rides, the Ferris Wheel and the Dangler Swings, needed special parts and repair in order to continue to operate safely, and were shut down (we placed a board outside the gates to announce this, so that guests would not find out after paying admission). While we were disappointed we weren’t able to offer these two rides, the rest of the rides at the park were available (the S.S. Moyie sternwheeler, horse- drawn wagon rides, the historic street car, Caterpillar, Carousel, The Whip and Baby Eli Ferris Wheel), and of course, the rest of the Historical Village was open for exploration. This included a number of interpretive and educational enrichment activities, like crafts for kids!

If you ever visit Calgary Again, we’d love you to give us another try. Please call myself before you visit to arrange the details. Thank you for your feedback.

Kim Aspinall
Marketing & Tourism Specialist
Heritage Park Historical Village
Reception: 1.403.268.8500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our History”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very fun for the whole family. Shows alot of history to the 1800 and mid 1900 - you get to see how things were done when there was no electicity

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, Marketing & Tourism Specialist at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Kathy G,

Thanks for reviewing us, and we're glad you had a great time!

Best Wishes,
Heritage Park Historical Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoy the variety of activities - strolling the boardwalk, taking a ferry ride, riding the steam train around the park, visiting the farm animals, going on rides at the historic amusement park, and enjoying the green spaces for picnics and playing. Of course, the bakery and candy shop are not to be missed!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BT685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim A, Marketing & Tourism Specialist at Heritage Park Historical Village, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi BT685,

I'm so glad you got to explore so much of the Park! And just between us - the bakery and the candy shop are my favourite too!

Thanks for the review,

Kim Aspinall
Marketing & Tourism Specialist
Heritage Park Historical Society
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Railway days”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Railway days, spiking contest, engine pull great day, great place to visit again and again, a lot to see, get ready to go back in time

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SDupuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Park Historical Village also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Park Historical Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing