We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth the Risk !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Risk !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Very sketchy, dirty, hotel (Moxies the Restaurant is good) Car broken into (yes in the Parkade!)Stolen GPS, Cash & $200 for the broken window. Hotel is relatively cheap, but expensive in the long run. Stay Away! Please stay away!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we empathize with your disappointment, however this type of incident is most definitely not isolated to the Sandman Calgary City Centre, nor is it isolated only to hotels and only to Calgary. I am confident that you would agree that although a disappointing fact, that culprits like in your encounter, exist despite the business operator's efforts. Despite this fact, we most definitely practice every measure as a viable hotel operator in remaining proactive in the fight against crime by enforcing our security measures. We take the safety and security of our valued patrons very seriously. Matters like yours, absolutely require proper channels to be followed. Proper police reports are mandated between the vehicle owner and the Calgary Police Service. This is a standard process. In addition to this procedure, the hotel has proper notification posted to all guests to remove valuables from their vehicles. Again, this is also a common practice in hopes followed by all responsible vehicle owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    233
    276
    113
    77
See reviews for
102
262
55
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

we walked into the hotel after being on a bus for hours, you could tell they were judging us as we were not in suits and ties.. we checked into our room very clean and tidy then went on down to the whirlpool which is not a whirlpool false advertisment! so dont get your hopes up like we did!! we only stayed 1 night when we checked out my security deposit wasnt refunded and i had to email twice before getting any response then the manager on duty ended up emailing me someone elses private documents.. it took me 2 months to get my deposit money back.. not happy!! be careful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mshcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Sandman Hotel in Calgary, this place was very difficult to find as you enter the city from the west.
Parking was fun down in the depths of the hotel looking for a space that was not reserved for corporate clients. Still, we found one in the end. Found our room and was good enough for one night in the city. Not much character in it's favour, two large beds, plenty of tea and coffee available, good sized bathroom.
We didn't spend very long in this hotel on arrival as we headed out into the city to try and find somewhere for dinner. Not the warmest welcome or farewell of the hotels we have visited in Canada. It's always off putting when you arrive at a hotel and find the remains of room service littering the corridors and landings to the rooms. Strikes me that this hotel caters for the business traveller. One night was truly enough...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was here on business for three nights. The property is older, but has a nice modernization. The location is good. I would stay here again. The light rail is right outside the door, parade is useless if you are driving a pickup truck.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayball99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Clean, friendly staff, good restaurant though staff very slow. Parking an issue but due to clients not finding a parking stall, just abandoning their vehicles on ramp making it impossible for others to get in. Ideally located for city centre activities.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better, due to constant traffic noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Well located for visiting the HQ offices of Calgary energy companies. Staff courteous as on my previous visit; room a good size without the pointless second double bed of so many North American hotels. WiFi speed adequate. Fitness room reasonably equipped. Restaurant actually rather good - and I appreciated not having to venture out into the -10ºC Calgary evening! All for less than the other city centre hotels.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bus_and_fam_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have just returned home from Calgary and have been thinking about the superb meeting and accommodation at this Sandman Hotel.
I travel very frequently working with clients and their leadership capabilities and opportunities.
This 3 day meeting was held at the Sandman, my first visit to this hotel. It was wonderful! The greeting, the room and the overall experience.
The highlight was the service level extended to me and the meeting participants. It was hard to leave after the end of the 3rd day! I was swept away by the crew of professionals who managed the meeting room, the politeness and manner of the staff and the attention to detail.
Thank you all for a memorable and successful session. I am missing you!
Peter L. Maw Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLeckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#80 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Address: 888 - 7th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing