We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ExecSuite(Calgary)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveler rating
59
255
318
136
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
255
318
136
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsc trainmoxies restauranttram linefree downtowncorner roomconvenience storebooked this hotelavenuebanffkitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 858 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This Sandman hotel in downtown Calgary has a similar interior design to the Sandman in downtown Vancouver. The only difference is that the Vancouver sister hotel appeared so much better managed , its furniture were in better condition and it is much cleaner than the Sandman Calgary City Centre. This Calgary hotel looked somewhat tired and neglected in parts.

After checking in, we were given a room which reeked of cigarette smoke even though we had requested a non-smoking room. We believe that the City of Calgary even have a by-law that prohibits smoking in public places. The room was changed when we complained.

The second room did not smell of cigarettes or smoke but it looked somewhat tired, and it was obvious the furniture had seen better days. The air-conditioner appeared old and it was noisy (although it was cool enough when switched on) . The bathroom needed redecoration.

Internet connection did not seem too fast but as it was free of charge, this was still appreciated.

The hotel has a bar/restaurant downstairs which served reasonably adequate food. The cooking was not outstanding but at least, the waitress service was reasonably friendly.

The good points about this hotel are, some of the rooms in the higher floors gives you a good view of the city. As it is conveniently located in the downtown area of Calgary, it is within a few steps to the nearest tram stop. So getting around the city from the hotel is easy.

It is hoped that Sandman Hotels would invest some money and effort in updating this hotel as it has potential to be a good hotel. At the time of our stay, the decor looked somewhat neglected in certain areas, which was a bit of a shame.

Perhaps the hotel management will read this and check whether their hotel staff have tried their best to uphold the City of Calgary no-smoking by-law in their hotel more diligently.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sealandandsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was not our choice of hotel, but because of the flood our original hotel was shut.
When we arrived the front desk staff were very friendly and quick. They gave us a room on the 6th floor, from this room all you could see was a flat roof covered in bird droppings. We requested another room higher up and with some kind of a view which they did straight away. This room was a lot better but in need of a refurb. Beds were OK and the bathroom was very small, the room itself was clean. The bathroom some child had wrote on the wall.
We had meals in Moxies which were excellent value for what you paid. We had 1 breakfast in the restaurant it was OK. The staff waiting on did not seem to know what to do.
The underground car park was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trotter1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent stay.Staff very helpful. Visit was almost immediately after the floods front desk was very helpful in determining alternate travel routes to Banff. Rooms were spotless. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marietta58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recent reviews on Trip Advisor left us not sure what to expect, but we had a perfectly pleasant stay.
The outside of the hotel is looking a little shabby, but our rooms were perfectly fine- maybe a little dated- particularly the bathroom, but well maintained and clean.
Other visitors have remarked on the hotel's poor air conditioning system, and granted, it was a little noisy. However we hit on the novel idea of opening a window to let some fresh air in :o)
All the staff we spoke to were pleasant and helpful. We arrived too early to check in and when we left we had several hours to kill between checking out and flying, but on both occasions the desk staff took our suitcases for us and locked them away safely until we returned.
The location is great for using Calgary's fabulous public transport system. Our main purpose of staying in Calgary was visiting the Stampede and it was a great help just being able to step onto the C Train and get to our destination with the minimum of fuss.
The presence of a special desk in the hotel's lobby where you could pick up free maps and leaflets and ask questions about Stampede etc was a great idea.
We arrived 2 weeks after the horrendous floods and were very impressed with the way the city as a whole had pulled together to get things back to normal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sybil2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our hotels seemed to be going from excellent to bad from Vancouver to Jasper and after reading some reviews on the the Sandman we were ready for disappointment.We found the staff very helpful and friendly and the rooms not top notch but fine and good value with a good restaurant down stairs.The free WIFI was hopeless though .So don't rely totally on other peoples opinions
Paul
Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews