We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok hotel!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here 1 night on start of tour of Canadian Rockies! Hotel was quite basic but clean.Staff did not go out there way to help. Did not have breakfast ,went across the road to small cafe which was good. Hotel situated in a busy area however never had disturbed sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    241
    296
    121
    78
See reviews for
110
281
57
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Previous reviewers of this hotel clearly didn't receive the same level of service we did. We stayed at the start and end of a tour of Alberta and could find nothing to complain about at all. The first room we had was smaller as it was near a lift but we heard no noise from it at all. The room at the end of our stay was a corner room with views out towards the mountains. Bathroom in the corner room especially spacious.
We didn't use any of the facilities but all looked good. The reception staff were all very helpful (although Raspir(?) maybe not as cheery as all the others). Free safety deposit boxes behind reception were a bonus. Very handy for the C train (1 minute walk) which is free within the central areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is in downtown area, The staff is helpful, and guides to the requirement. The room furniture is old , the room size is fairly good. The elevators take a little time to halt at your floor.
The hotel is close to a few malls and 20 minutes walk to the Calgary Tower. The train stop is just opposite the hotel which is very convenient. One donot have to buy train ticket for travelling in the Downtown area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajesh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Don't stay here if you can possibly avoid it. Staff are unhelpful and unresponsive. There is NO follow up to issues - you have to chase them to get anything done. I booked a business class room - but the TV did not work (during the Stanley Cup quarterfinals!). After several requests, they finally sent someone. They could not fix it, and could not move me to another room until a day later. I think they knew that room and possibly that area of the hotel has a problem, just by the way the serviceman acted when he came. The problem was in the cable service in the wall, not the TV - that is not a problem that starts all of a sudden and is isolated only to that room. The second night I had a mouse either in my room under the bed or in the wall behind my bed. So no sleep. Oh and for a business class room the bathroom was really uncomfortable - very small - the door was always in the way. I have stayed in all sorts of dodgy places, in mining towns and all over the world - I have NEVER had a mouse in my room keeping me up at night. But downtown Calgary is challenging to find a reasonably priced business hotel. It's the Sandman and Ramada - that's pretty well it - the rest are over $250/night. I have stayed at the Sandman many times, and have vowed not to stay here again before. I stayed here 6 months ago and it was okay, so thought that maybe they'd turned a new leaf and changed. But I am done now. History: No internet for 3 days, no power during a construction that they did not bother telling us when booking and reluctantly provided flashlights, no elevator stopping at the room floor when called - had to take the stairs one floor down, always one elevator not working so long waits, and never any apologies or follow up from staff. This time they promised that they would not charge me the business rate at least, but I had to remind them of that as well when checking out, as no change was made to my bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deliciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We at the Sandman do sincerely welcome our loyal guest feedback as their experience with us is a viable basis on which we can pursue maintaining our high service levels.
While the information that you have indicated resonates speculation, we do take your concerns seriously. Rest assured that your cable television challenge was an incidental one. In the unfortunate but seldom event that we are met with this type of issue, it is swiftly rectified, either by our in-house maintenance team or our contracted service provider. As for your pest control concern, we take this type of feedback very seriously. Sandman Hotels has a service contract with a reputable pest control provider, who we would have undoubtedly requested for immediate inspection should your concerns been brought to our attention. In addition to service being readily available, as our preventative program, it is part and parcel of our Pest Control Contract that our property is privileged to a scheduled and routine inspection process. To address your Internet concerns, we at the Sandman Calgary City Centre offer Complimentary W-fi Service to all of our valued guests. Included in this free service, a reliable technical support team is available to assist with any challenges that may occur during one's Internet usage experience. It is noted that typically, Internet challenges are due to the demand drawn from the content attempted to be accessed. This can only be determined by our Technical Support Team in "real-time" while challenges are being experienced and unfortunately not after the fact.
The Sandman Team prides ourselves in our Guest Service skills and meet each of our loyal guests with their genuine intent to provide their assistance and expertise whenever presented with the opportunity. In the event that you personally found one of our team members falling short of your expectations, the General Manager is always available to offer clarity and assistance, ultimately allowing for resolution and your peace of mind.

Thank you again for taking the time to offer your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My Mom and I stayed Here for 1 Night on May 11 after our Rocky Mountaineer Train Adventure. Check in was fine. But when we Entered the first Room it smelled like Smoke. It was a non Smoking room. The Lady at Check in was Very Sorry to put us in that room after we reported it and moved us to another room and it was better. But the shower went from hot to cold a few times and getting the water Tempature right was a bit tricky. The pool area was OK but I found it a bit dark in there. It was a little Noisy with the C Train Right beside the Hotel But It didn't bother Me. The tables were a bit Scrached too and It could use new Tables in the rooms. The good News is a Nice Flat Screen TV We had. There is a Tim Horton's For great Coffee Across the street from the Hotel. There is also a great Café for Breckfast across where the C train lines switch that Someone Recommended. Forget the name. 50 50 About staying at this Hotel again But it could use a bit of care as it is getting on the older side. The room was Clean. But the People at the frount Desk were Frendly. Just be Careful and Check the rooms. But I was happy another room was Avlable that night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights, before heading up into the Rockies. On the positive side, the hotel is easily walkable to the central shopping district, and is well priced, but it could do with a bit of a facelift. The rooms arent the largest, and the pool and gym area wasnt great. Service was good, with check in relatively easy. We also had drinks and some food in the bar on the first night and this was ok, as wel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duddsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an older hotel. Room was decent, bathroom was VERY small. I felt really weird staying in this hotel. The beds were comfortable, and the room I had was quiet, but there was just this weird feeling I had.

Parking is a mess. Very confusing to get up and down to the parking garage. Parking was very expensive, and even though I paid, I still received a ticket upon departure which the hotel voided.

I don't think I'd stay again as there are comparable options around the city centre that would provide a more comfortable and modern experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaverickBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#81 of 109 in Calgary
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Address: 888 7 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing