We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey Mr Sandman; bring me a light bulb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Hey Mr Sandman; bring me a light bulb”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Picked by by Travel Agent as a budget option for a short stay in Calgary, first impressions were mixed, however it grows on you after a while. Great location next to the tram station in downtown. Room was a good size but it looked tired, however the problem was the lighting which gave that impressson. Same with the pool, great size and temperature, but oh so dark!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    240
    291
    118
    77
See reviews for
109
273
57
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

we booked this hotel for 2 nights to start our honeymoon and must admit was a bit worried with it being 2 star and having read the reviews...but we opted for price over quality as it was only for 2 days (and we were away for a month). anyhow, the hotel was better than we expected! clean, large room, which had hairdryer, iron, tv, air con etc. i have stayed in worse 3 and 4 star hotels in england!! we got a free breakfast the first morning so ate at moxie's grill (on site restaurant) and the food was fine, staff were friendly. easy to get to all the sites on foot (calgary isn't really that big). would recommend this hotel if you are just stopping over in calgary. if it is your main/only destination then i would suggest splashing out on something more fancy...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nice clean tidy hotel with friendly staff. Located close to a lot of the city centre attractions. Handy stops outside for the C train and buses. We were a bit worried when we first arrived - no air con in hotel reception area. However it was working in the room ok! I do beleive that some guests had no air con for a couple of days which would have been uncomfortable in the heat. Generally a good experience for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Booked through travel agent for our first few nights of our honeymoon - the hotel was lovely - great staff, lovely food, but our room wasn't as good as expected. It was small and dark and smelt dusty each time we returned. The staff knew it was for our honeymoon, so just disappointed by the lack of a nice room. Location was good though, so easy to walk into Calgary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We do sincerely appreciate your feedback. We make every effort is maintaining a comfortable and safe standard in our guestrooms, which include a wide varierty of renovated & upgraded room type options. Based on our availability, we are always happy to extend to our valued guests with an upgraded guestroom, especially for those special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel several times on one night business trips and found it to have everything I needed. Extremely clean comfortable beds, good wifi internet, Tim Hortons across the street, and an excellent corporate rate.

The only low point in my stays would be the wait for room service. The food was great, although overpriced as room service often is, but I had to wait over an hour for the food to arrive each time. The staff was apologetic and once offered a free desert for the wait, but for the price I wished they were more punctual. #FirstWorldProblems

I would recommend this hotel, especially for business travelers, but eat out at a restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hotel enjoys excellent downtown location with good links to public transport system
we stayed durring the opening days of the stampede so hotel was very busy but check didnt take long and staff at front desk were polite and helpfull even though they were busy .
Hotel does look a bit dated but all clean and tidy our room on 18th floor was a bit small compaired to others we have used but was in good order nice big king, bed tv, fridge etc with nice bathroom again all clean and tidy, the lifts were a bit Temperamental durring our stay but no real proplems, considering the number of guests this hotel must get i think it is in pretty good shape we had a pleasent stay

Edd

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel has seen better times. During my two night stay, the elevators worked sporadically, one of the four would never go to my floor. Rooms are dated, peeling wall paper, stained carpets, have small bathrooms, so small in fact, I had to sit on the toilet to close the door. Then there is the noise from the Light Rail Transit system and loud speakers from the LRT station across the street blare late into the night and early in the morning. So if you are a light sleeper, beware you may be in for some long nights. The restaurant in the hotel is mediocre at best. Last but not least, the hotel parking can be costly, especially when they tow your car away and you are forced to pay $165 to get it out of the Calgary impound. The hotel has a convoluted parking procedure, which I’m sure favors the Calgary Tow Truck Drivers. There is much better value for your dollar and much better guest treatment at other hotels in Calgary. Certainly the Sandman has seen the last of me as I will stay elsewhere on my next trip to Cow Town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RickSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#82 of 109 in Calgary
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Property: Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Address: 888 7 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Calgary's business district, and a short distance from Calgary's retail and entertainment district, Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre is the ideal place to stay whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing