We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I just recently stayed at the Delta Bow Valley and had a great stay. It was a great location in downtown Calgary walking distance to shopping & restaurants and a great location to Stampede Grounds. I stayed on the Signature Level and it is worth the extra money for the added amenities. I will stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarlinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmJTDeltaBOW, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

WRTMC...

Thank you for your review of the Delta Bow Valley. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced the benefits of our Signature Club and the Lounge offerings, such as complimentary continental breakfast, evening appetizers and honor bar. Many of our Signature Club guests enjoy the lounge as it has a spectacular view of the riverbank and is a comfortable place to work, watch TV, or relax with friends.

We appreciate that you will recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Calgary!

Yours truly,

gmJT DeltaBOW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

The suites are nicer than the rooms with more room and better LCD tvs. Some rooms have an updated bathroom with full walk in shower in place of the tub. Be sure to ask what you are getting if you have thoughts about soaking your bones in a bathtub. Internet access is avail in every room via wire. This is at a cost if you are not a Delta Privilege member. In today's age, this is a little archaic. The speed of the internet is quite slow as well. I registered speeds of 500 kBits/s. Connectivity is increasingly important to travelers, I would suggest you skip this hotel if speed is important. I've stayed at a Sandman Signature, a little higher quality than Delta, and had speeds north of 13 MBits/s, 26Xs faster! There is about a 5 block walk to downtown shopping or the river.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flingwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed for 5 days during the stampede, it was fantastic. The staff were great, they couldnt have been more friendly. The rooms were clean, the bed was huge and very comfortable. The food was good. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel at all. I cant compare it to any others in Calgary as i have not stayed in any others. But, I do intend to go back to Calgary and The Delta Bow Valley will be the first place that i am going to check for availability.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88love2travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmJTDeltaBOW, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

88lovetotravel88...

Thank you for such a glowing review of our hotel. Stampede in Calgary is truly a magical time and we are excited that we were a part of such a wonderful memorable experience for you!

Looking forward to "Welcoming you Home" on your next trip to Calgary and thank you for recommending us as a place to stay. The Stampede dates for next year are July 8th - 17th, 2011 and 2012 will be a GREAT time to come as it will be the 100th Anniversary of the Stampede!!! An event not to be missed....

Thanks again,

gmJT DeltaBOW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We came down a week before Stampede on the July long weekend and our family used the My Delta My Dino package. We were very happy with the room, the concierge service was amazing, except for a grump at the front desk while we were checking in and a very rude pool man, the rest of the staff were very friendly, very accommodating and went out of their way to provide us with excellent customer service. We had just come from a horrible experience at the Super 8 in Drumheller, so we thrilled to have the level of service that we encountered. We would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4_eyedtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmJTDeltaBOW, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed the My Delta My Dino package that we partner with the Calgary Zoo as a package offering. I was pleased to note that our staff were friendly, yet, I do apologize for a couple of exceptions you noted. I do appreciate that you will recommend our hotel to family and friends and we look forward to when we can welcome you back to the Delta Bow Valley.

Yours truly,

gmJT DeltaBOW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed for two nights and ate in the "Elements" restaurant on the first evening. The meal was quite expensive, but well worth the money, given the standard of service and the quality of the food - I recommend the bison t-bone steak! We also had two good breakfasts there. Service from all of the staff, in reception, cleaning, parking and, the restaurant was of uniformly high quality.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlakeandJenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmJTDeltaBOW, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Dear BlakeandJenna:

Thank you for your review of our hotel and the kind words directed towards our staff. Our team members were very pleased to learn that they served you well on that occasion!

Thank you again for your review and while it may be some time before you travel to our city, I hope you will choose our hotel as your place to stay when in Calgary.

Yours truly,

gmJTDelta BOW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Booked via tour operator so didn't have much of a choice. Very easy to find driving from Calgary airport. You will pay $17 for parking however. Room was of a very good standard. Service was very friendly particularly the porters who were good local guides. There is a charge for WiFi and Internet which is a shame. Rooms are nicely air conditioned and there is an excellent pool and gym. Make sure you book B&B as breakfast is expensive ($60 for 2 adults and 2 kids!). It's more of a business hotel but worked for us as a family.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grewalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmJTDeltaBOW, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Dear Grewalski:

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were pleased, overall, to learn that you and your family enjoyed your visit on that occasion. We do offer different room categories which do include complimentary internet and hopefully should you visit again your tour operator can offer you room including internet and breakfast. I trust you enjoyed the remainder of your tour in the Canadian Rockies!

JTBowGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We make a yearly trip to Calgary for our anniversary and chose the Delta this time. Our room was dated, scuffed walls and the bathroom fixtures were rubbed clean of their chrome they were so old. Stopped at the front desk (staff was very friendly) and she asked how the room was. I did mention that we were a bit disappointed in it, she immediately "upgraded" us. Room looked the same, but this time nobody had cleaned the tub. Short black hair everywhere and all I wanted to do was have a hot soak after a long day shopping. I decided to clean it myself rather than crab about it, and after all that I got in the tub and the DRAIN wouldn't hold. It was frustrating. We ended up leaving for home that evening instead of staying. It was a deciding factor that the fire station was right below our window. We chose to go home for a quieter sleep. They did try to offer us free breakfast which was very kind. We just didn't feel like staying after that. The basic expectation is a clean well appointed room. We were told the manager would contact us and never did. They did alter our fees, so I guess they did what they could for us.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TESSIERedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmJTDeltaBOW, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Dear TESSIERedDeer:

Thank you for your review of our hotel and thank you for providing your information that allowed me to personally follow up with you. Certainly I was very concerned to read the review indicating that your special occasion visit did not live up to expectations. The conditions such as you described were not in keeping with our high levels of hospitality and Delta standards. While it is never pleasant to receive unfavourable comments, they do allow us to review with all concerned at the hotel and review procedures as well as take time to provide additional training and determine how we did not deliver on our promise to provide a truly satisfying experience. Your comments allowed us to do just that.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours truly

gmJT DeltaBOW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.3 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
2,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $108 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing