We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Parking and Lack of Communication”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Parking and Lack of Communication”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

After a hard week at work, we booked a relaxing getaway at the DBV. The room itself was clean and it had a nice view, but it was a little outdated and it was quite noisy. Our major problem is with the parking. We checked in at 4 PM and paid our pet fee and parking fee. We were told that we had in and out privileges with the pass, however, upon return to the hotel after dinner, there was no parking to be found. My husband dropped me off to go back to the room and I did not see him until 2 hours later, still without a spot. He left the car in front of the lobby while we tried to sort it out, but they wouldn't do anything practical for us so we ended up packing up and leaving after midnight.

Here are the problems with their parking:

1) Charging a parking fee should guarantee a spot where the fee was charged.
2) There was no mention of overflow parking upon check-in nor on the parkade sign. The sign indicating the parkade was full still said that members and guests could park there. It was just by chance that on his 5th loop around someone was standing outside and told him about it.
3) He specifically asked if the ticket he paid for at check-in would work in the other parkade and was told, "Yeah, of course." Well, it didn't and he got stuck on the ramp and had to pay another fee.
4) Overflow parking is not at the hotel and he would have had to walk in downtown Calgary with two dogs after midnight and we did not feel that it was safe. We also didn't want to park on the street because we had our golf clubs in the back of our SUV.
5) Valet parking was basically non-existent and most cars ended up lined up in the tow away zones in the parkade.

It would have been nice to know about the parking situation and other pertinent information upon checking in. If we had been properly informed, we would never have left our original spot and it would have saved us several hours. What was supposed to be a romantic night, unfortunately turned into one big headache.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdlf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are very sorry to hear that your stay, in regards to our guest parking, this Saturday was disappointing. Parking in our parkade is based on availability and assigned on a first come first serve basis. On exceptionally busy nights such as this past Saturday, we make arrangements for overflow parking at the Telus building next door to us. Unfortunately, that was not properly communicated to you by our staff and for that, we sincerely apologize. We would be happy to discuss this situation with you personally at your discretion. Please feel free to contact: Warren Downs, Guest Services Manager, warren.downs@deltahotels.com or 403-205-5414. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we hope to have another opportunity to provide hospitality.

Sincerely,
Warren Downs, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    571
    136
    44
    20
See reviews for
195
422
64
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stouffville
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I just returned from 3 nights at the Delta. The hotel is clean. The staff are friendly. I used the valet parking and it was so worth the money. Check in was a breeze. My room was clean and comfortable. Nice view looking out over the river. The buffet breakfast in the restaurant was great... they offer coffee to go when you pay your bill. Nice touch. They have a small room with 2 computers that guests can use for free right by the reception. They had a piano player in the bar Friday evening which was nice. I just wanted to shout out to several of the staff that made my stay.... Bernadette and Caleb at Reception, Paul, James and Miles at Consierge, Farooq at the bar, and Dawn in the restaurant (breakfast time). I was travelling with my parents who are both in their 70's, they had a room on the floor with PURE air. They were upgraded to a junior suite which was lovely. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, as to get a better view. Also, if you are not pet people again higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gone_again18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will celebrate the staff mentioned who made your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back with the same warm hospitality.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just stayed 1 night on our way to Calgary airport. The check in process was quick and efficient. The room was spacious and modern with a great view. Nice looking gym and pool, but unfortunately we did not have time to use either of them. Handy parking under the hotel with lifts going up to reception. Very good central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week at the Delta Bow Valley for a conference. Hotel is nice, but service left something to be desired.

Upon arrival, I ordered room service on the first day, and when my order finally arrived it was wrong. I was hungry and it was late in the day, so I didn't bother complaining or asking for a change. It was ok. For the remainder of the week, our meals were all provided as part of the conference. The food was plentiful, but not necessarily great. I found it to be salty and unimpressive.

We did have the chance to sit in the bar a few times in the evening. Service there was pretty slow. We were particularly disappointed when we wanted to order drinks to the licensed Patio Garden. We waited 10 minutes for a manager to help with us, as the bartender could not help us. We were leaving when the manager finally arrived, and advised us he was sending someone up. No one arrived in the hour we were in the patio garden.

The elevators are also very slow, although they seem to be in the process of renovating them. My room was nice and clean with a nice view of Calgary downtown, although one delegate shared a horrific story of finding a used condom under her bed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SavvyHomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is an important part of how we determine that we are meeting your needs and supports our mission of continuous improvement. I apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received while ordering rooms service and during your event. This is not the norm and I have passed your comments along to our Outlets team to correct. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Calgary.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Delta Bow Valley Hotel for 1 week in the beginning of August. We were traveling with an infant and the staff was beyond accommodating. We requested a playpen with extra sheets and that was brought up right away. There is a Starbucks on the main floor for all of you coffee lovers. There is also a little bar/lounge area on the main floor as well. We had breakfast everyday on the 2nd floor restaurant and really enjoyed it as there was a variety of foods including a little Indian and Chinese section which we loved! We upgraded our room to the 25th floor and had lounge access. The lounge is beautiful with a gorgeous view of downtown. They would have breakfast in the morning and h'orderves and snacks starting at 5pm. There was water, coffee, tea, juice and soft drinks 24/7 and alcohol for purchase for during the day. The rooms are super clean and the staff are beyond friendly and extremely hard working. What a great hotel! We would definitely return. PS. The beds are amazing, had the best sleeps ever!

Room Tip: The higher floors give you a nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersilVert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the start of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a room on the 18 floor and got a suite. Very nice. The hotel was clean and friendly and parking underneath the hotel was very handy. It was easy to find and we would stay here again.

Occasionally we could hear traffic but it wasn't too bad

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We planned to spend the weekend in Calgary chilling out after our road trip from Vancouver, before catching our flight to San Francisco. Got a good deal on the Delta Bow Valley and thought it looked like a good quality centrally located place with everything we needed.

We planned to stay in, order room service and watch movies.

The room was comfortable and clean enough but the things we didn't like were:

Concierge recommended a lunch place which after we had walked the 5 blocks to find it, turned out to be closed.
In room movies were unavailable - they thought the problem was just in our room so moved us to another room but that room had no movie access either - must have been the whole hotel.

We wouldn't bother coming back to this hotel or to Calgary in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I certainly apologize for the difficulties you encountered on the occasion of your visit. Our in-room movie system did experience outages through the weekend, which have since been repaired. It was also unfortunate that the restaurant outside of the hotel recommended by our concierge was closed upon your arrival. We have a knowledgeable team with many good recommendations so this is not the norm. Calgary is a great city and I do apologize that my hotel and the city did not provide the brief respite you were seeking prior to flying to your next destination. If future travels do include Calgary and hopefully our hotel please do not hesitate to contact us directly through our website/contact page. We would be pleased to provide advance information on things to see and do, while visiting our wonderful city.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.3 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#14 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#26 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing