We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here on aero plan points for 1night to go to the Jack singer concert hall. This was only one block, 5 minutes walk.we parked for $14 and checked in. Front desk staff very friendly and welcoming. We had a spacious room(king) with free wifi, usual coffee maker arm chair etc. good bathroom. All linen, towels etc go good quality. On our return after the evening concert we found our toilet was on continual flush , the system having broken. We phoned the front desk and within 10minutes someone from maintainence arrived and fitted a new piece(it was 11pm)
We ate in the bar, pizza, salad and delicious desert. Reasonable prices and good service.
We will certainly stay again especially when attending functions in the Downtown

Room Tip: North side has view of river. We were on 6th floor and it wasn't too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It was wonderful to learn that, overall, you had a great stay. In particular I was so pleased to read how our staff made you feel welcome and comfortable. I do apologize for the situation with the flush control but great to see that our engineering associate was able to make effective repairs in a timely manner. Jack Singer concert hall is very close and thank you for sharing that tip for other guests. We certainly look forward to providing you another wonderful visit as events bring you to downtown Calgary.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering accommodation in Calgary. We loved everything about this hotel....service, location, comfort, food and value. What surprised me the most was how comfortable the beds were. will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your review and your recommendation of our hotel. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay, especially the comfort of the beds. Our team members have become avid readers of TripAdvisor so I know they will appreciate your comments and will be certain to share your comments with their colleagues. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have stayed at Delta hotels in Toronto and Sault Ste Marie and they were so good we decided to spend a night at the Delta Bow Valley.

We weren't disappointed. The staff were friendly and professional. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet, which included a made-to-order omelette, was amazing!

My only disappointment was that the hotel is in a spectacularly unattractive building from the outside. Everything else, including the location, was just fine.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, except, perhaps an architect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to learn that, as a result of your great experiences with Delta Hotels in Toronto and Sault Ste Marie, you chose to stay with us while in Calgary. Aside from our brick facades and "unique" outwardly appearance....I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms and "amazing" breakfast. We enjoy learning how our staff have taken good care of our guests and they will be so pleased to know they served you well. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit to Calgary.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was our 2nd stay as a family at this hotel and it didn't disappoint...my only problem was the double room I booked (2 queen beds) was too small for the 4 of us...but that was my error in booking. Overall the room was relatively comfortable, and the hotel was very clean and well located: minutes to the river walk where we walked to the Calgary zoo (about 45 minutes along the Bow River pathway); about 10 minutes to the Calgary tower. The breakfast buffet was also top notch and accommodated both small and large appetites. The front desk staff was also very friendly and accommodating - thanks for yet another great experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjuliennow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Welcome back. We are glad to hear that your second stay, lived up to the first family stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and leave great tips for other guests. Our staff will be delighted to hear about your great experience. We look forward to your next stay when we can welcome you and your family back to enjoy our hospitality.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here one night before an early morning airport run. Rooms were spacious and our room had a view of the Calgary revolving tower. Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff was very helpful and offered to provide a tour of the hotel amenities. Self parking at the hotel is $20 per night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank searp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your review and we were very pleased to learn you enjoyed your accommodations with a view of the Calgary Tower. I know that our team will be be delighted to know that they served you well, particularly during check-in. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Bow Valley when travels bring you to Calgary.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is verry much of a type - north American / functional corporate with a colour palate of sombre hues but the rooms were very acceptable with large VERY comfortable beds made better by good bedding and pillows. Our room was opposite an ice making machine that switched on and off throughout the night and was noisy. To be honest I thought it would irritate more than it actually did but it did wake me a couple of times. Noisy guests in the adjacent bedroom (Ibiza anthems at 2.45am) were very swiftly and effectively dealt with after a call put through to hotel reception. Breakfast omelette and restaurant service was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BinksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. Wonderful to hear that a noise concern was solved by our front desk quickly. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beds and our restaurant service. We look forward to your next visit, so we can extend the same hospitality.
Sincerely,
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

While the look of the room initially could not be faulted, unfortunately the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The grout between the tiles was extremely grubby & the corners of the bathroom floor could have done with a good scrub. I realise that time is at a premium because of guests checking out & in with regularity but think that it let dpwn an otherwise great hotel. The location was good. The bed linen was really nice but the mattresses were too soft for my liking & my back was sore by morning. We were in a room with 2 queen beds.

Room Tip: Perhaps requesting a room on a higher floor would cut down the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAatDBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and bed linen. Thank you for your feedback on your room. We are constantly auditing our rooms and have dedicated people to fixing any concerns. We apologize that this room did not meet our standards. We look forward to your next stay in Calgary.
Sincerely
James Tingley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.3 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 110 in Calgary
2,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 110 in Calgary
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
The Westin Calgary
The Westin Calgary
#27 of 110 in Calgary
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown

Address: 209 Fourth Ave SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 0C6, Canada (Formerly Delta Bow Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#17 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#32 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $83 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an unbeatable location, the Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown is renowned for genuine hospitality and exceptional service. Additionally, our central location places us conveniently close to TELUS Convention Centre and the Calgary Zoo. Our hotel welcomes business and leisure travels and is well situated in central downtown. Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown is committed to offering you a remarkable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Calgary
Calgary Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing