We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days in February. Very nice hotel, clean rooms, and close to bars and restaraunts. Staff was was very helpful and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in downtown Calgary.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jca78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    565
    170
    53
    33
See reviews for
162
377
105
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Great service at the front desk and at the breakfast buffet. I look toward to returning.

Good gym pool and fitness center too. I can only complain about the cold outside!

Good location downtown and Starbucks just off the lobby. Starbucks coffee also in the room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EricP3UAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear EricP3UAL,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast enriched with SuperFoods and that you took advantage of our WestinWORKOUT and pool area. I am glad you found some comfort with Starbucks especially in this cold!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Decent hotel in downtown Calgary.

Cleanliness of the rooms was excellent and bed comfortable, so the essentials are well taken care of.

Downsides: poor value-for-money and the sound insulation of the rooms is pretty bad (don't get a room anywhere near the lifts).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear London_user,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my apologies for the discomfort from the elevators. I am however happy to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms and our signature Westin Heavenly bed.

Be Well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a nice hotel… it's not great or awesome, just good like many other hotels in the same category… but 299 for a plain room plus parking is a bit much. There was nothing special in the room… just clean, in good condition with comfortable, functional furniture. Check in was quick and friendly. The really nasty thing about this place is trying to find the fitness centre. There is no signage and no reference to the location in the in-room blurb. So I phoned and got directions but still got lost. You have to go to the parking level then make your way to a different (albeit adjacent) building then take the elevator to the 20th floor… Got lost on the way back to my room too. ;-)

Room Tip: If you want to be near the fitness centre and pool advise them when you reserve or register.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear cmbtraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review in TripAdvisor.

I apologize for any confuson and inconvenience trying to find our WestinWORKOUT.
All of our suites have a Guest Services Directory which include its location on the 20th floor of our business Tower.

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I decided to stay downtown close to restaurants as my flight did not leave until noon hour. The Westin was well ranked so I decided to stay there. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and efficient, the check in process was quick and effortless. The room was clean and modern; it was surprisingly quiet considering that the hotel is downtown. There was some construction in the parking garage so it was quite dusty. There is a Keg restaurant and a Starbucks just off the lobby so there is no need to go outside if the weather is bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Brendan R,

Thank you for taking the time post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that your check-in was effortless and that our associates were friendly and efficient.

At The Westin Calgary our goal is to do everything possible to ensure our guests leave happier and feeling better then when they arrived.

We look forward to your next stay!

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The service was very good and I have no complaints with that. The bed was a great and I had a great sleep. The bathrooms are horrible you can not stand under the head and have a proper shower. You can not sit on the toilet without your knees hitting the walls. NOT what I would expect!!! The parkade was the the worst parking experience ever. It was dirty cramped and I managed to damage the top of my rental vehicle on the roof. What business in Calgary does not accommodate trucks? Over all I had a stressful time and I don't think I could be persuaded to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruellrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Gruellrule,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that you had a stressful time during your stay. May I please request that you contact Andrea Fernando at andrea.fernando@westin.com regarding your experience.

Be well

Didier Luneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Not my first time staying at a SPG hotel. Beds are comfortable and clean as usual. Room service was decently priced too. Ordered a continental breakfast with tips and service fee total comes to $27. A great view of Calgary too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Elizabeth L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you slept comfortably in our Westin Heavenly Bed. I apologize for the mishap with your car however I take comfort knowing that our associates and management took immediate attention and action to the situation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.


Be well


Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.5 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#16 of 109 in Calgary
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing