We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good location - enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just a few blocks south of 8th st. We ate at the Keg (attached to hotel) one night and it was fine...nothing great but convenient and not bad.
The Irish bar across the street (Ceilis) was worth a visit for a pint.
Location was close/walkable to Sunamerica bldg where I had business.
I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    536
    160
    52
    33
See reviews for
143
340
99
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was evacuated from my downtown condo after the floods on June 20 and, after two weeks of staying with friends, I really wanted to get out of their hair and have my own space for a bit. I called around to several downtown area hotels, inquiring into a potential discounted rate for flood evacuees and, after speaking to the Director of Front Desk Services David Barbour, the Westin was the only hotel willing to accommodate my request and discount the nightly rate, while waiving the daily parking fee. This was during the first weekend of Stampede and at the peak of tourist season, arguably their busiest time of year - they could easily have charged double the rate for the gorgeous room I was in.

On my first night there, David up a very nice card and a fabulous bottle of wine to welcome me to the Westin - much appreciated!

I stayed for 3 nights total and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are very clean, and the Westin staff are always very pleasant and accommodating. On a side note, I am an event planner and have always enjoyed holding my events at the Westin, again because of the efficiency and kindness of the staff, as well as the beauty of the venue.

I highly recommended staying at the Westin Calgary - my time spent there was definitely a bright spot during a turbulent couple of weeks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Isabelle M,

First, I am sorry to hear that you were evacuated from your condo due to the flooding. I hope everything is back to normal. I am very happy hear that you were able to stay with us and especially that David made you feel welcome and comfortable. We have already shared your experience with our teams and have given David your thanks and appreciation.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your loyalty!

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Factory, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I arrived after a couple of day's drive and I was tired. The check-in was a little long do to computer issues. But the room was very clean and bed was extremely comfy. I have paid more for roadside Inns. I was there for three nights and on the second night I unexpectedly picked up my old cat. From the valet to the front desk straight to the maids back to the valet, they where extremely careful / proper with him and made this unexpected guest less painful then it could have been. As it is in the downtown area, it is amazingly easy to get out of that area if need be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesjegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear jamesjegen,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that your check-in experience took longer than usual due to the computer issues especially after driving a couple of days. I hope your were able to get a good nights rest.

As a Pet Friendly hotel, we are always excited to have our guests furry friends join them on their visits. I am happy to hear that our associates welcomed your cat and were extremely careful and proper with him.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you and your cat again soon!

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The floods had caused our original hotel to close, the Stampede was on and the hard working staff at the Rocky Mountaineer, who had to relocate many guests, managed to perform magic and get us into a downtown hotel. (Thanks Amber and Amanda). The Westin staff were in the Stampede mode, with hats, boots and buckles, and the atmosphere for a town recovering from pretty devastating floods, was amazing. Every member of staff was friendly and positive. The room was clean, had 2 double beds. The restaurant and bar served great food, service was always great.
Staying downtown meant we had easy access to the C Train, the hotel wasn't too far from the stampede grounds, we walked back after the Rodeo one day. Restaurants close by. Found as much shopping as we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear BethDid,


Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that your original plans were changed due to the flooding but were very happy to accommodate you during Stampede. I am delighted to hear that our staff were friendly and positive and that you got to get a taste of Stampede while you were here!

We hope you will come visit us again!

Be well


Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

i enjoyed my stay here. The room was very nice. Very quiet and comfortable. The staff here are very helpful. Very close to everything downtown. The wi-fi was fast. I was very pleased with all aspects of my stay. I slept very well. I highly recommend this Westin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Love, love, love.
My stay could not have been better!!!
Room service, delicious.
Valets were very accomodating and professional. Great security!
Front desk were awesome, even with the gin breakfast noise and what seemed like hundreds of people walking through the lobby.
I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalberta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything about the Westin was really good. Speedy check-in. Friendly staff. Nice room.
The restaurant for breakfast was well supplied but the smell of bacon was way to strong for my taste. I felt like I had to change my clothes aftee breakfast.
The room was comfortable. Not much of a view since it was on the 3rd floor overlooking the back. The bed was great. However sleeping was hard because the heating made a terrible noise every time it went on which was often since it was -10 outside.
The location is hard to beat and you'd be hard pressef to find friendlier and more cooperative staff.
I love the eco-friendly program where you can choose to have your room cleaned every two days in exchange for SPG points!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracemarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWC_Westin_GM, General Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear gracemarini,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. I apologize for the noise and will make sure to remind our housekeeping team to notify the engineering department if they hear any noise from the heating system. I am happy to hear that everything else was really good from the check-in to your room and that you loved our Make A Green Choice program!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Be well

Didier Luneau, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.4 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing