We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, warm blankets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, warm blankets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

You will not be cold here. Had the AC cranked all night and had to remove the top layer.

Downtown location lose to tonnes of good eats and shopping and amenities. Quick jump to Kensington.

Stylish rooms. Great shower. Sits on a starbucks (needs to open earlier on weekends). Reasonable fitness centre. Get bigger dumb bells. (50s max).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beernwinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    522
    156
    51
    31
See reviews for
137
333
97
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed at the Westin numerous times when in Calgary for business and social activites. I'm writing a review now because of renovations to the hotel and good customer service every time I attend. The hotel is downtown in a good area with access to downtown activities and easy access to get to other areas of the city. My interaction with Stacey at the front desk was very pleasant and she made me feel at ease and personalized my experience. I asked for a room in a quiet area as I am a light sleeper and was given just that, a deluxe room on the 17th floor with a king bed which was nicely decorated and very quiet at night. I faced north where there was construction going on across the street which I was nervous about ; but that stopped at 5:00 PM. at night. Ear plugs were also provided. I had a nap in the late afternoon, used them and didn't have a problem falling asleep.
In room dining is always very good. I had a steak sandwich and would recommend the lava cake-very good!
Small complaint about the cleanliness in the bathroom, hair from a previous guest in the track of the shower door-yuck. Other areas of the room very clean.
Underground parking is $28 a night for self park-Ouch. This is Calgary however and it has been said to have some of the highest parking rates in North America. It is nice however to attend to a warm vehicle with no snow on it or defrosting windows.
This hotel is always consistent in customer service and cleanliness. Would stay again as my experiences have always been positive.

Room Tip: North rooms have construction across the street, but ends by 5:00 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jibac0a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTTAWA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for business for a few days. Excellent hotel for customer service. NIcely decorated, clean rooms. Customer service was outstanding. Only reason I did not rate excellent was because I asked for a quiet room in a quiet location only to find that I was in a room under the hospitality room for some convention so there was a lot of noise.
Great location - walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doni064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I just checked out of the Westin Calgary and wanted to share my great experience with others. The hotel is in a great location, the room was very comfortable, and the staffs were wonderful! Valerie, the front desk person was very courteous, knowledgable, and she went out of her way to make sure that my stay was pleasant. I travel frequently for work and pleasure and definitely rank this stay very high on my list! PH, Az

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHoang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Westin Calgary is in a very good location. There is a great Steakhouse restaurant and pub (The Keg) on the ground floor, as well as a Starbuck's. The hotel con nets to the Calgary "Walkway" so it is east to get around even during the cold weather. Staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable and roomy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exumawannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night and it was very good. Clean newly renovated room. Very quiet and comfortable. Service was good and valet was awesome (it was -21 outside). Checkout was great as they just email you bill to you so no need to line up here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent location, minutes to restaurant and shopping. Ceili's has a beautiful pub directly across the street, Staff is pleasant, Starbucks is in the building.

Rooms are bright and immaculately clean but small. Heavenly bed was wonderful, lovely linens and beautiful bathroom. Free phone calls in North America and excellent wifi.

Room somehow never seemed to get as warm as I would have liked.

Congested reception and not enough staff so potentially long wait just to ask a question.

Room Tip: Put your do not disturb on the door if you want to sleep in. They will knock early to pick up your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelDeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#18 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#9 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing