We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in a friendly environment”
Review of The Westin Calgary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Calgary
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business in a friendly environment”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I recently stayed at the Westin Calgary for the Annual IDB meeting, that attracted hundreds of bankers worldwide, and the service was both efficient and extremely friendly. Congratulations Westin Calgary team.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_calgary, Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
@Duda_Borges - The IDB 2011 Annual Meeting was a wonderful opportunity to showcase our great city, and for us at The Westin Calgary, our rejuvenating Westin service. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are very happy that our associates were able to create a memorable experience for you. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you here at The Westin Calgary on a future visit.
Be well, Russell Barnes – Director Of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    549
    168
    53
    33
See reviews for
148
354
102
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I just wanted to comment that the service at the front desk and within the Essence restaurant for breakfast was outstanding - the best I have received from a Canadian hotel. Not only was the staff friendly, they often suggested extra items or benefits to make my experience that much more enjoyable. From the bottled water provided on request to guests, to additional breakfast items and conveniences (smoothies, coffee and tea to go, etc.), I was impressed and delighted. The hotel room was suitable for business calls, and it was superior to my actual office facilities due to its spacious desk, business telephone system, and privacy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firsttimetovegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_calgary, Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
@Firsttimetovegas- Thank you for this wonderful feedback. At the Westin Calgary we truly pride ourselves on our service and so happy to see that our team created a memorable experience for you. Both our Front Desk and Essence associates do an outstanding job and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future for another truly Westin experience. Be Well - Toby Scott-Long, Director of Six Sigma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We experience efficient and friendly service from the moment we arrived. This including answering all of our questions about places to see and eat. If they didn't have the answer, they did some research and got back to us. Our room decor was very new and contemporary including a very cool TV screen integrated into the mirror of the bathroom along with heated floors! The bed was very very comfortable. The hotel is located very close to many attactions such as the Calgary Tower, Jack Singer Concert Hall, 7th Street Mall, Eau Claire, etc. Also being able to use what they call the "+15" to get to different places without going outside was a major convience in cold weather. Can't think of anything I didn't like except 1 elevator was out of order during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurboTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_calgary, Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Westin Calgary during your recent visit to our city. Our Heavenly beds are truly “heavenly” and we’re very proud of some of the amenities we offer to our guests. We’re also equally proud of our associates who demonstrate friendly and efficient customer service as it is what truly enhances your experience. We only wish we had some control over the weather!

Michael Bitcon – Director Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Our experience at the Westin was not exactly stellar. Although they did have certain features that were great, such as cleanliness, a good exercise facility, good location it was not enough to make me want to return. When we first arrived at the hotel at 6pm (far past the earliest check in time) our room was not ready. We had to sit in the lobby for almost an hour and wait. We were given a $50 gift voucher for the hotel bar (in my opinion not enough to compensate 4 adults). When we were allowed into our room it was miniscule. For a room that is meant to hold four people I would suggest including more space for people to move about in, luckily we were able to escape the confines of the room often. Lastly the hotel staff was not very well informed about our events. As part of an extremely large group staying at the hotel they could rarely give us exact times of shuttles, or activities. This may not have been entirely their fault, but if you are catering to an event for hundreds of people you should be informed.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_calgary, Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we’re very sorry to hear your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectation. It will however assist us fine tune how we communicate information both internally and to our guests so we thank you for taking the time to send us a note.

Michael Bitcon – Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at The Calgary Westin for ten days this winter while attending the national junior curling championships. We were absolutely delighted with every aspect of the hotel. I can't speak to regular rates because we were part of a large group rate but that rate was incredible for the quality of the hotel. I don't pass out fives very often, but I have rated them a five in every single category The quality of the rooms, the innovaitve decor, the comfortable mattresses were all at or above our expectations. The service was absolutely sensational. Even the chamber maids who some times are very modest and shy, went out of their way to greet hotel guests and were absolutely fantastic at their job. We were pleased with all of the employees but in particular one young gentleman that we will never forget. "Marvelous" Marcus as we refer to him went above and beyond the call of duty. My wife had a cold and we asked him for directions to the nearest drug store to get cough drops. Well not only did he tell us where it was, he ran about 3 or 4 blocks uptown to get them for her so she wouldn't have to go out in the frigid cold temperatures. WOW ! How do you describe that kind of service other than sensational ? He made our day every time we arrived at the hotel and we just couldn't be happier. We travel very frequently and this was perhaps the best service we've ever experienced.
The free and bountiful samples of Starbucks coffees and lattes on the cold days just added to the already great experience and is strategically located in the hotel !!! If you're not a Starbucks fan, there's a great Tim Horton's right across the street !
All in all, a delightful experience and we can't wait to go back !!

A happy Prince Edward Island curling parent

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islander017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_calgary, Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for visiting the Westin during the National Junior Curling Championships and sharing your service experience with us. It is this particular type of guest/associate interaction you describe we love to hear about and celebrate; and celebrate Marcus’ service delivery we will! It also is important for us as we build loyalty beyond reason which is key to our hotels success and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Calgary very soon!

Michael Bitcon – Director Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I am still amazed at the wonderful hospitality extended by the Westin Hotel. My daughter and I were impressed with the welcome and I want to thank the hotel for an experience that will not soon be forgotten. The food, the room, etc., etc..It felt more like a weekend than just one night and to have shared it with my daughter was a bonus for which I am very grateful.

Thank you again to the Westin for being the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_calgary, Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. We are very happy to have made your stay PERFECT – Marcos Yu. Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Westin on our way through Calgary this winter. Despite the fact that we arrived a little bedraggled with a car bursting with skis, chairs and household goods (we were on our way across Canada moving back to BC from ONtario) from our cross-country drive from Ontario, we were welcomed by staff with graciousness and respect.
The rooftop pool area was lovely, even the music coming in through the sound system was great. Overall, while we expected a lot from hotels such as the Westin, this stay came as a pleasant surprise. Even our basic room was beautifully laid out, decorated and had a good view of the city and the Bow river.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westin_calgary, Manager at The Westin Calgary, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
We are happy to be the rest stop to have replenished your spirits during the long trek from Ontario. We hope that you can visit us soon so we can create another memorable experience. Marcos Yu. Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Calgary Eau Claire
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 109 in Calgary
1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regency Suites Hotel Calgary
0.4 mi away
The Fairmont Palliser
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
2,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel and Spa Calgary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Calgary

Property: The Westin Calgary
Address: 320 4 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 2S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#20 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of one of Canada's most exciting cities, The Westin Calgary is located downtown where the major business centre meets the city's outdoor activities and first-class dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Calgary Hotel Calgary
Westin Calgary
Calgary Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing