We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Sushi in Calgary”
Review of Sushi Club - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Club
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Hillurst
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favourite Sushi in Calgary”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We eat at Sushi Club most weeks. The fish is fresh and well presented, the staff attentive and the chefs/owners always welcoming. There is nothing fancy about how the place looks, but if you want the best quality food this is the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalABtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff is super friendly, upon arrival the staff greets you in japanese( I think with a "welcome" ) I'm assuming as I don't speak Japanese, but they tell you what is the freshest sushi they have. We have been here a few times and have not had a bad item on the menu, everything we have had has been amazing. Located in Kensington which is also a nice plus as it is a nice quiet area of Calgary, will definitely continue going here as its our favorite sushi in Calgary.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sushi in Calgary”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Always fresh, super creative, delicious and a great selection of Sake. Service is excellent, and the servers will tell you what is the freshest item of the day. Try the house specials.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Food-Ski-Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“The best sushi in Calgary”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We try to get here once a week. We look at one another some night when neither one of us feels like cooking and go here for Sushi.

Beware - the place is small, and very busy. Due to its popularity, you often can't just walk in and expect to get a table.

We have had most of what's on the menu and everything is terrific. I have heard that the miso soup is great but I haven't had that yet.

They are innovative, creative and the mixture of flavours and textures in your mouth is exquisite.

I'd recommend it highly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank readytoretirecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great fresh sushi”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We've been to Sushi Club twice now, and were impressed both times by how fresh everything is, and how awesome the servers are. You get told what's in fresh that day, and based on what you normally like, what you might like to try. The rolls are really well made, and there are some interesting combinations - but everything we've tried has been great. A must try if you like sushi and are in the Kensington area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaryPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing