We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Review Highlights
Afternoon trip

An amazing piece of architecture with a very friendly staff. Computers, meeting rooms, children... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Vernon C
Beautiful Spaces

Wood, glass, pleasing lines, ascending enormous staircases, and books, book, books. This building... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
christopherk454
,
Red Deer, Canada
via mobile
Read all 105 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Calgary
from $8.95
More Info
from $89.10
More Info
from $46.48
More Info
from $24.37
More Info
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
87
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
87
16
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building architectural marvel children's area opened its doors fantastic architecture community hub mental health four floors sight lines free tour downtown calgary street level new building east village worth a visit city hall first nations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked it out on a Saturday morning and we were amazed at this beautiful building. We checked out all 4 floors within an hour and happy to have stayed longer with a good book but we wanted to check out other attractions in the area. Lot of space for families, teens and those who want their alone time.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank teeka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this very new library building in downtown Calgary on a recent trip. The staff we encountered were friendly and eager to show us the features of this unique building and answer our questions. The beautiful wood panels that are used throughout the building on every floor were stunning and the sight-lines from one floor to another afforded very interesting views. We took an elevator to the fourth floor and then walked down through the building which gave us a great feel for all that is available, from special areas focusing on the history of Calgary to the teen area, the children's area and the main level. The many windows give the library great light and ambience. The library is a must-see if you visit downtown Calgary.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank terri53226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is such a nice spacious building. It was a little hard to find help but they were very friendly and helpful when I did find someone.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jcampbell777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I adore libraries and go in them every city I travel to, can honestly say this is the most beautiful and well designed library space have ever been in. Wonderful vibe. Would even rate above British library in London because of the architecture and less crowded.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank hannahbt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

As part of our explorations of downtown Calgary, my sister and I visited the Library. As we approached this magnificient structure, it reminded me of a colorful, mosaic-covered ship. It is truly a work of art. We stopped to view a metal sculpture of a buffalo on the first level. Upon closer inspection, we realized that it was composed of many, many letters of the alphabet. The artist arranged these letters to form indigenous words and sentences. We walked the beautiful wooden staircase to the third floor to see a huge mural called Fish. Made of over 11,000 books of 12 different colors, this work of art features a swimming goldfish. It provided clues to finding a geocache hidden somewhere outside the Library. We spent over an hour, counting books to obtain coordinates of this geocache. It was interesting to note that the same artist was responsible for the large, bobbing bird sculptures located at the entrance of the Library. Called Trio, these colorful mobiles gently sway in the wind and reminded me of prehistoric creatures. Besides housing these public works of art, the Library contains a performance hall, several reading rooms, meeting rooms as wells as video and audio recording studios. It's design and contents present a warm and welcoming environment.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews