We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible treatment from manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible treatment from manager”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed July 6 & 7th during Stampede week. We found a cigar in our bed. The pool was filthy with band aids, hair, items in the pool, etc. We reported all this to the front desk. The manager gave us $10 off one night. Upon check out, I had found an oil rig's ball cap under the bed by the wall and I ask to speak to the manager. He was defensive and basically accused me of planting the items. I was speechless. He made sure I knew his hotel won some award 4 year's straight but gave very little thought to our experience over the two days.
The only good thing I can say is the breakfast was hot and fresh.
Very horrible way to end our vacation to Calgary.

Room Tip: take pictures of what you find in your room otherwise you might be accused of planting items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freiheit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    89
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
94
45
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We drove through an industrial area to arrive at this hotel. It is across the street from a casino, which is probably a benefit to some. The rooms were clean, but nothing special. The breakfast was good, but the staff had a hard time keeping it stocked. The front desk staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeriAnneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The slide is awesome- kids loved it! Pool is indoors and creates a strong odor of chlorine in the small hot room. Wish there was some ventilation. But kids had fun and got tired out!

Service was friendly and nice!

Breakfast was amazing!! GREEAT quality and quantity.

Clean spacious room. Walls were paper thin, though. Light sleepers beware.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NATNCHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Although this place not located in downtown Calgary, it is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are nice and clean. The staff here were polite and courteous. If you have a dog like we did, bring them along! They don't mind dogs in their rooms. The staff even prepared a dog swag bag for us! There is also a water slide in the hotel, so bring swimwear. The free breakfast they provide was good and the quality was consistent. Breakfast is in service for around 4 hours. They offer yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, toast, french toast, muffins, pancakes, hash browns, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. There is a juice machine that dispenses grapefruit, cranberry, apple and orange juice. There is also coffee and tea. The best part of breakfast was using the pancake machine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place is great. This was the second time we stayed and it is very clean they are helpful and the location is great for our needs. The first time we stayed we had my daughter's large dog and they welcome her with open arms.
The kids like the slide and the hot tub was a perfect temp. Thank you We will be back on our next visit to Calgary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmammpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPISCGY, Assistant Front Office Manager at Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Grandmammpt,
Thank You for your review and for coming back to stay with us again. I like to hear from our return guests who ensure us that they have enjoyed our hotel and their stay more than once.
We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back again and she is always welcome to bring her dog for a visit. We view all pets as part of the family and love to have them stay also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I usually stay at the Sandman Signature South in Calgary when I am there once or twice a month for business. This time they were sold out, so I used a search engine called Rocketmiles which referred me to this Hotel. It seems very new and is located right across form the Deerfoot Casino. The room was large with a very comfortable king bed. Room was also very clean and quiet. You get a free breakfast each morning, including bacon and eggs and one of the nights I stayed there they had a Manager's party with free beer and wings! Outstanding! I really liked this place, the front counter staff are cheerful and helpful and they have a frequent client program that gives you one free night every 10 stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clint a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPISCGY, Assistant Front Office Manager at Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear clint a,
Thank You for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you came to stay with us and really enjoyed it.
The breakfast is definitely one of our best features as well as our Appreciation Night. We host it every Wednesday evening from 6:00pm to 7:00pm and welcome all of our guests to join us for drinks and appetizers.
We are happy to welcome you back anytime and hope that you will be able to join us again on a Wednesday evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
413 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Always consistent. Have been here several times since our last review and this is still a great spot. Nice rooms, good value and the included breakfast is great. No complaints. The Wi-Fi is unsecured and a bit slow.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
#42 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary

Property: Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary
Address: 3503 114th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Z 3X2 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Service Plus Inns And Suites Calgary
Service Plus Inns & Suites Calgary Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing