We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Way”
Review of Farm - CLOSED

Farm
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beltline
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
512 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a great find! A friend took me to FARM and I loved every minute of it. The room is cozy, warm and has a great vibe. Not too noisy that you can't have a conversation, but too noisy to hear the nice music (which i only heeard as i was leaving). The menu is creative and fun, and I loved the cheese and charcuterie board options. We chose that over a salad and were very pleased. NOTE: Check out the cheese store behind the restaurant - it is wonderful. The service was friendly, professional and excellent. The food was really good - loved the entrees - but what was most yummy were the desserts - we had the peanut butter chocolate pots du creme and the homemade cookies - both were to die for! Amazing what they put out in that tiny kitchen. Loads of fun here - great place where I would return to often if i lived in Calgary. Alas i am 2000 miles away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yecats59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    64
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic brunch - go with a group to order more sharing dishes!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A group of us went for Sunday brunch, and absolutely enjoyed every bit of it. Arrive ready to eat!

SHARE DISHES; TASTE MORE
Fortuitously, being a group, we could order a wide variety of foods and share some samples with one another. Everything from the mac & cheese, to the various brunch menu items, was fantastic. They apparently make their own sausages, so be sure to try some. It. Was. Delicious.

The french toast at brunch is like a huge dessert, so if you can opt to share it with someone who's ordered the eggs benny....well, you'll both get the best of those worlds.

NO RESERVATIONS - OUR GROUP WAS FINE
Our group was apprehensive about going for brunch, since they do not offer reservations. It turned out to be no problem at all, and we were seated at the large table with bar stools - a good place to people watch from at a height.

CHEESE
The Farm offers tasting plates of their cheeses, which can be conveniently bought from their cheese shop at the rear - which leads to parking that is the front of the cheese shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank my-itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Terrific night out!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went to Farm on 17th Avenue SW with my wife and 2 adult children, and we had a terrific meal. Service was excellent. The menu wasn't large, and the starter was a combination specialty meat and cheese plate. Very good. We enjoyed a wonderful Argentinian Malbec. The menu is not expensive, and although the portions weren't large we were satisfied. Really enjoyed our desserts of macarons and an amazing carrot cake. I highly recommend this restaurant. It has a bar overlooking the chef's kitchen, and for couples this would be ideal. Not a large restaurant so reservations recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalleyGog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've eaten at Farm twice in the past few months and have enjoyed the experience both times. Their menu is unique and the food is delicious. Our server both times was a friendly and helpful young hipster. The wine and cheese pairing was excellent and reasonably priced I thought. The bacon marmalade burger is was delicious. Janice Beaton Cheeses is located at the back of the restaurant and offers a wide variety of local and imported cheeses and other food items, including the bacon marmalade. The atmosphere is fun and hip....as it should be on 17 Avenue. Give it a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brezzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Bay SK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Cosy, good menu, lively atmosphere and wonderful aromas, but had to wit an hour for our lunch, which had obviously been forgotten. When our order did arrive, there was no spoon for my soup and no butter or dipping oil for the baguette. Once I had the right utensil, I found the cream of potato soup was cold -- and got even colder by the time we were able to flag down the server.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanaG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing