We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calgary in the cold and a bad Hotel!!”
Review of Nuvo Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Calgary in the cold and a bad Hotel!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is an old apartment block converted to a hotel, its almost impossible to find and PARKING, No there is no on site parking then they send you to one that's two blocks away (try that in 20 below) and charge around $18, Rooms are OK once inside using some crazy code system and the front desk is like something out of a bad movie. This is a dump, maybe one star. Don't go there, there are too many nice hotels in Calgary for what they are charging.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else. !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuvoHotelSuites, General Manager at Nuvo Hotel Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your review of Nuvo, and we are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay in Calgary at our hotel. Nuvo is a small apartment hotel which was renovated in 2008, and many of our guests enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel, and the personalized service which we are able to offer.

Nuvo is not a typical corporate hotel with a lobby or on site parking, but our heated secure parking spots are just a short one block walk away, and at $18 a night, it is very fair value compared to many downtown hotels charging $30-$40 a night to park.

The check in office at Nuvo is in one of the suites, which we have converted to a welcome area, and we are in the midst of planning further renovations to the space.

Calgary weather in the winter can sometimes be freezing, and it is unfortunate that your stay coincided with a cold snap, hopefully the weather will be more pleasant on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Webb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    44
    24
    18
See reviews for
27
54
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This small boutique hotel is in a perfect location to walk a few blocks to the downtown business sector of Calgary or the trendy 17th Avenue entertainment district. the suites are spacious and well appointed with all amenities including a kitchen for simple meals in your room. This is particularly good as the hotel is located just across from a Safeway supermarket with a great take-out deli section. There is a small work station area for a computer and keeping in touch while traveling. The staff are very efficient, friendly and helpful. Some parking is available but needs to be reserved in advance of arrival if possible. They offer free high speed WiFi and long distance calling within North America. Some units even have their own washer and dryer for convenience of those on long term stays. This is a great option in Calgary for reasonably priced accommodations for short or extended visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel looked like it had promise from the description and artful photography found online. Booking was easy as with most online transactions. Once arrived at the hotel, which is snuggly nestled between a liquor and a hair style salon, I was greeted by nobody as the office was closed. One I negotiated the push button entry I found an envelop with my with my name on it with instructions to my room. No elevator, not a big problem as I was travelling light, just be aware.
The room was certainly spacious and strikingly similar to a contemporary bachelor suite. I had great difficulty with the TV so finally gave up. The bathroom needed attention in particular the shower curtain was reeking of mildew; I asked to have it replaced to no avail. Day two was escorted in with no hot water! Indeed things can happen anywhere, but it was a massive inconvenience as was the temperature control, I never could get the room cooled off, even with the patio doors open in October in Calgary.
I found the room noisy but more than likely as I had the patio door open to get fresh air. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the kitchen fully decked. If I were staying longer than a few days, the grocery store across the street would be very handy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenguy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuvoHotelSuites, General Manager at Nuvo Hotel Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Nuvo Hotel Suites, and I would like to address your concerns.

With regards to your TV, we are in the midst of upgrading our entire TV selection, and this should be complete by the end of the year. If the TV itself was not working, the staff are happy to arrange that this is resolved as soon as possible.

The hot water did go down in the entire building last week, however we had the issue resolved within 90 minutes after an emergency plumbing call. This has never happened before, and we have taken steps to ensure it never happens again.

Our office is only open from 9am to 11pm, and then we have an after hours arrival procedure. This helps to keep our rates lower, allowing us to offer exceptional value for a hotel stay in downtown Calgary.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Sarah Webb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If I would be Canadian I would call it 'awesome' ;-)
We went to Calgary for half a week and looked for a small apartment or b&b as we didn't want to stay in a ordinary hotel (me traveling a lot and having about 200 nights in a hotel per year and my wife hates the rush in the morning at breakfast in a hotel).
We found Nuvo Hotel Suites on a webpage and thought to give it a try as the description sounded nice and rates are affordable (C$ 125 - 175).
We booked a room with balcony to smoke.
Arriving is looked more like a apartment building and reception was on 1st floor in a converted room.
Check in was easy and parking was available 2 minutes away.
Rooms are small, but well equipped, incl. fully equipped kitchen with microwave, build in coffee maker and dishwasher. Coffee, sugar, hot chocolate, cookies, etc are provided foc.
Only negative point is the wall bed with a super soft mattress that caused back pain for both of us (well, me got a broken lumbar vertebra and my wife a slip disc).
Best is the location that is close to everything. Next door is a safeway supermarket, several pubs, Starbucks, etc. and within 5 minutes there is the CBD and 15 min to the airport.
Overall we would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0ne_n0ne_n0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pa.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for one night. Odd to see a full kitchen in a suite (along with Volrath cookware!). Many items in room (chair, washer/dryer, woodwork) were damaged. Beds and bedding were very comfortable. Felt more like a studio apt or flat than a hotel room. No parking on site -- had to use street parking behind the hotel. Overall, place had a strange feel -- not quite a hotel, not quite an apartment building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondScrapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is a little bit strange when you want to check in. This hotel doesn't have a lobby like any other hotel. No, here you have to go to one of the rooms which they use for checking in their guests. That also means that they have limited hours on which they are available for guests and a phonenumber which you can use for the out of office hours. The staff is very friendly. The hotel has their own parking space and they even have a few parkingspaces in a private parking garage. Since we were driving a Toyota Camry, our car had the right size (bigger cars do not fit). The room looks very nice and modern at first sight, but don't look too closely. Otherwise you will see that the finishing is not all that good. But the room had everything you need, even a completely equiped kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taiao_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Nuvo is a great place to stay in downtown Calgary. It is beautifully decorated, affordable, comfortable and well equipped with full kitchen and in-suite laundry (although dryer is very slow). Best of all is the staff that bent over backwards to accommodate our every need, including offering to dry our laundry in their commercial machines. Grocery store, wine and beer store and restaurants are right outside the door. The view is not great (into the neighbouring building wall). One does have to climb at least a few steps and there is no elevator, so the disabled should take note. The staff were very helpful helping to haul our bags up. For us, the style, comfort and service overshadowed these small things.

Room Tip: When reserving be sure to specify if you need a pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
630 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuvo Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuvo Hotel Suites

Property: Nuvo Hotel Suites
Address: 827 12 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0J1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nuvo Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuvo Hote Suites is a small Boutique Hotel in downtown Calgary. Our trendy suites are spacious and contemporary, and come with full kitchens, optional in suite laundry, and Free WiFi and Long Distance Calling within North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Nuvo Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuvo Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing