We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small average hotel, great rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nuvo Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Small average hotel, great rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This little hotel in an unassuming location would be easy to pass without even noticing. We stayed during opening weekend of the stampede and it was very busy, but at such peak season, it was a relatively affordable option in downtown Calgary.

Positives:
- Large rooms with full kitchen. It would be easy to stay here long term and fend for yourself.
- Fending made even easier by adjacent Safeway and Liquor Barn.
- A good attempt has been made to keep a stylish theme in the rooms. Some of the furniture and decor is not top quality, but nor is it bland or average.
- Great shower! My husband and I are tall and hate hotels where we have to crouch to reach out heads. No issues here.
- Most rooms have a balcony.
- Our room wasn't ready at check-in but the staff were so proactive at resolving this, it gave us a positive impression.

Negatives:
- Narrow entrance and staircase makes access tight, especially with luggage. No communal areas at all.
- No 24 Hour reception may be an issue for some. Key entry out of hours.
- No parking bays for check in - try your luck on the street before being directed to secure parking.
- A 20 minute walk to the heart of downtown.

I thought this was a good choice for Stampede tourists on a bit of a budget. I'd rather stay closer to downtown on my next trip to Calgary however.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LikeItIs-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    60
    43
    24
    18
See reviews for
27
53
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and were very happy with the service and the room. The lady, I believe her name was Monique, that checked us in was very helpful and friendly and even managed to remember our names! The hotel was in walking distance to a few restaurants, which was perfect as my husband had the car for most of the day. The decor of the room was very trendy and very comfortable. Friendly Staff and a Comfortable room with a washer and dryer if I may add that isn't normally included in a hotel room. For the price that we paid we were very satified with the value that we got.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarissaG374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Nuvo Hotel Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Nuvo Hotel Suites, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a second time last week, and it lived up to my expectations set from my first visit. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the front desk agent actually remembed my name! I'll be back!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BobbyJones864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

If you want a room invasion by a drunk man, this is the place to stay. Featuring a broken washing machine, broken cupboard doors, garbage on the balcony, incorrect breakfast order and the loudest air conditioner known to humankind, this little gem in the heart of Calgary has no night staff, an emergency number that goes to voicemail, and a free visit from the Calgary RCMP when someone is able to enter the room and use your toilet.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randolph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuvoHotelSuites, General Manager at Nuvo Hotel Suites, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Nuvo Hotel Suites sincerely apologizes for the episode which occurred the night of your stay.

However I feel it is of vital importance to note that this guest had NOT locked his door the evening of his stay.

Further, please note that the guest who caused the disturbance is not welcome back at Nuvo, and we do not often have guests who act in such a manner, as the large majority of our guests are corporate travelers.

We are in the midst of fixing any broken washing machines, and in the meantime the staff are happy to help guests with doing laundry in our main laundry room. As well, although the breakfast order was initially given to us incorrectly from the company that provides the boxes, our staff did scramble right away to offer an equal alternative for the breakfast box.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in nuvo hotel suites at the beginning of May 2012 for 3 nights. We thought the location was great and as a young couple enjoyed the short walk to 17th Ave which has some good bars aswell as being a short walk to the train and centre of Calgary. The room was modern and clean. The kitchen was well equipped. I would definitely recommend this hotel but my only problem was that it was so hot at night.. And we only had a fan for air con.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A5nn5A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We arrived at the hotel last night, with our confirmation of reservation in hand. We were told that their reservation system showed something different (a 4 night stay instead of a 2 night stay, and for totally different dates). They informed me that the hotel was full, and that they would be willing to call their sister hotel to see if they had a room (which they didn't).

Personally, if I make a reservation at a hotel, I expect there to be a room for me when I show up at the end of a long work day. Could you imagine what would have happened had this been Stampede week!?!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuvoHotelSuites, General Manager at Nuvo Hotel Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Molly Huber,

I sincerely apologize for the system error which resulted in this incident. We are in the midst of upgrading our interfaces to ensure that this sort of system error does not happen again, and I have spoken to the staff member on duty about the many ways in which she should have assisted you.

I would like to invite you back to Nuvo as our guest to enjoy a stay compliments of us so that you can experience the genuine hospitality for which we are typically known for.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights which was more than long enough. Don't know if all rooms are the same as I didn't see any of the others.

I was given a basement room which was dark and hot. No airconditioning, had to use a fan that was in the room. There is no good place to sit and work at a computer.

The bed was comfortable but the pillows are too thick, I wish I had brought my own.

The floor was concrete with a diry area rug on the floor. I was wishing I had brough slippers.

The bathroom is the size of a postage stamp and has seen better days.

The kitchenette and in suite laundry facilities are nice if you are staying for an extended period of time but I did not make use of anything but the fridge.

Staff are very friendly and helpful when needed.

I stayed here because it was located near to where I needed to be, but would probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the basement - but beware there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuvoHotelSuites, General Manager at Nuvo Hotel Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of Nuvo, and I would just like to take a moment to post some of the upgrades currently going on at the hotel.

Blackout Blinds are going to be installed by the end of June, we are replacing any area rugs that have not held up well with brand new ones, and the floors get re-polished every few months with a new coating to keep the pressed cement looking fresh and clean.

We have air conditioning in the majority of the suites, with the exception of a a few lower floor rooms that are typically quite cool all summer long.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Sarah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuvo Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuvo Hotel Suites

Property: Nuvo Hotel Suites
Address: 827 12th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R0J1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nuvo Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuvo Hote Suites is a small Boutique Hotel in downtown Calgary. Our trendy suites are spacious and contemporary, and come with full kitchens, optional in suite laundry, and Free WiFi and Long Distance Calling within North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nuvo Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuvo Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing