We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adult dining with kid friendly atmosphere”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - South Pointe
Ranked #190 of 3,580 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Southeast Calgary
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Adult dining with kid friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hats off to the Keg for making what is essentially an adult establishment very kid friendly. Between ordering and receipt of dinner they bring each child a veggie / fruit platter with dip. Helps keep them happy until dinner arrives. A brilliant idea. Their kid menu is also very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    25
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Traditionally good food and great service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Keg just consistently provides great service and good food. We have been going to the Keg since they opened in Calgary (1980s?) and they continue to serve some of the best steaks and prime rib in the city. The South Pointe location continues the tradition as we were not disappointed. My wife mentioned that the crab dinner special was also very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickardo502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not so happy new year.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

One thing about the Keg is you can always count on the food to be fairly good. This time was no exception, I had the lobster tails and my husband had the filet. We obviously expected that New Years would be a busy evening for them so we went for a very early dinner at 4:45 hoping to beat the rush. We asked to be seated in the lounge as the wait in the restaurant was 90 minutes. We sat at the bar and had a drink and appetizer and after some time were seated at table. The lounge was packed full of people looking for tables and we ended up with 7 people lurking around our table, watching us eat and waiting for us to leave. We felt like we we were eating on a bus! This is not the first time this has happened at this location and it appears the management continue to let people in the door to matter how full they are. After all money trumps the experience of diners!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydney414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been to a number of Kegs and have always enjoyed my meal. This time was no exception. I ordered the ny striploin and it was cooked perfectly, meat was tender and flavorful. The veggies were great too. The twice baked potato was really good and my server was attentive, another good experience at the Keg.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cold food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went to celebrate our anniversary....should have stayed home. First, they seated us next to a boisterous table of 14 young guys. Really enjoyable!!!!! The service was OK and the bacon-wrapped scallop appetizer was great. I ordered the Classic Prime Rib and wife ordered the Creole chicken. Hers was fine, but mine was stone cold. The only thing that was warm on the plate was the fries, the rest of the meal was not even luke warm. I mentioned this to our server and she immediately took mine back. Within 2 minutes, someone brought me a complete new meal.....just as cold as the first one. I can understand getting one cold meal but getting a second cold meal in replacement of the first one is inexcusable.
We won't return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MexnutCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - South Pointe also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - South Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing