We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts, Terri & David went to great lengths to ensure we had everything we needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #3 of 57 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Our stay at English B&B & Day Spa was comfortable and relaxed. Terri served tasty breakfasts and exceptional hospitality. After a few weeks of travel it was great to receive a massage at the Day Spa conveniently located at the B&B. Our hosts provided great advice on tourist outings. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busyvees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2009

We'd be back in a flash providing they would be able to accommodate us.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We had a great time at this very comfortable and well located B&B. We really felt part of the family. We took advantage of their advice on places for evening meals and were not disappointed. Only 15 minutes walk to the urban railway for trips into town (cheap too). Breakfasts were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. By the way - the hot tub is really hot! We would love to return - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnTDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We arrived late on arrival after a flight delay and issues with Budget rental changing the price of our car, but David and Teri didn't bat an eyelid, and despite the late hour took the time to show us where everything was, and make sure we were settled in comfortably.

We took off travelling the rockies for a week, and returned to English B&B & day Spa, adn they were just as accomodating - nice touches like a laptop present for your internet access.

Trust me, if you forget to pack a laptop/iPhone when travellign Canada, it's annoying to find free wifi everywhere, but no terminals to use it, so having a laptop to research travel was a godsend.

the accomodation itself is lovely, clean, and reasonably priced (our second stay was during Stampede, and was fairer than most places prices), the breakfasts are great, David and Teri are both really helpful and really nice.

Only caveats:
Location is a little outside the city centre - but easy to reach by car or by nearby local trains (5-10 mins walk) which run very regularly
The outdoor hottub (yes there is one available for guest use!) hums during the night as it remains on, and after the quiet of BC and the rockies, we found it hard at first to sleep in the front bedroom, but this was only an issue the first night.

All in all, I'd very much recommend staying there

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank MiketyMikeMikeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was our second time at English and cannot agree more with the previous reviews - from Terri's wonderful breakfasts to the help and advice on where to visit. We stayed in the Egyptian Room and made full use of the hot tub - nothing better after having a full day of sightseeing. We would thoroughly reccommend a stay here, and look forward to doing so again sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We truly enjoyed our stay at the English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa. Teri and David are welcoming hosts whom will give you great tips about Calgary. Teri's breakfasts in the morning are wonderful and different every morning with home made goodies. She offers you a variety of tea, coffee and soft drinks; also available throughout the day. We stayed at the last room on the left with a bathroom--both spotless; the bed was great as well. The whole house is also spotless and has a peaceful, relaxing feel to it. They have a beautiful backyard with beautiful flowers. Make sure to allow time for a massage with Teri--great way to get rid of of sored muscles after a long trip and very rejuvenating. They also make available to the guests a notebook computer where one can check e-mail, get directions, etc. The B&B location is also very convinient: fairly close to the airport, highway, supermarket, shopping center, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodsnottraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Amazing breakfast to start the day, peace and quiet with a good night's sleep to end the day. My kind of place.

The only potential point to check is the distance to downtown, but if you have a car, no worries as its on a direct route. We didn't check for public transportation.

We chose "English" due the ratings and reviews already mentioned, but we felt an obligation to repay the great stay with a confirmation of our own.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMHSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Hillurst
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Northwest Calgary
Along River Ridge
Along River Ridge
#5 of 57 in Calgary
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,390 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn by Hilton Calgary Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Address: 5544 Dalhousie Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: $85 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing