We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #3 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Egyptian room comes with a bathroom and just a door away from the outdoor hot tub. Bathrobes are provided. The room was comfy. The common areas - kitchen comes fully equipped, living room was spacious and comfortable, patio overlooks the garden and you can relax on the sofa while reading a book. The owners Teri and David were very warm, friendly and helpful; they made us feel at home, like a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violetferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
96
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent 5 nights here in June and enjoyed every minute, Teri and David are excellent hosts. We enjoyed the hot tub, the freedom of the top floor of the house, the yummy breakfasts and the attentive hosts. Would recommend this b&b to anyone looking to stay in the Calgary area, a great alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were looking for a base in Calgary so we could spend time with our daughter and honestly the motel village didnt inspire us at all. From the time we arrived until the time we left, David and Teri were helpful and attentive even to the point of clearing the snow off our car before we left. It was nice to have the use of the upper level of the house with the kitchen and the lounge chairs. The room wasnt large but clean and the breakfast very tasty. There's a good shopping centre down the road and the house is within walking distance of the C train. Be sure to check out the Cheescake shop in Northland mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locumdoc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very simply, David and Teri are great hosts, and they have created a wonderfully pleasant B&B. We had decided to attend a conference in Calgary after most hotels were booked, so began looking at B&Bs outside of the city center. To our great good fortune, David confirmed very quickly that there was an opening for the nights we needed. Easy enough to find, and worth every minute of the commute downtown. It would be hard not to have a good day after a morning dip in the hot tub, and one of Teri’s breakfasts. Definitely a Five Star recommendation – we will have to find another excuse to visit Calgary and stay again ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Absolutely lovely, clean, comfortable, place; easy to get around; gourmet breakfast; gracious hosts and lots of little extras. We'd come again.This time we'd remember the swimsuits and actually use the hot tub. :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently were skiing in Banff and had an early flight out of Calgary on our return, so decided to stay overnight in Calgary.
Teri and David were great hosts and we were made to feel like one of the family. Some sherry before going out for supper and a hot-tub to relieve aching muscles. Really excellent.
Knowledgeable, friendly and helpful hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhcasserley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the moment I first emailed them, David and Teri were professional and prompt. I stayed there one night during the first week of May whilst visiting elderly relatives in the area. After being well greeted by David and shown the ropes, I enjoyed a hot tub on the deck under the stars. They even provided flip flops and a robe. I printed off my boarding pass using the available lap top and had a great sleep. The next morning i enjoyed a generous and delicious home cooked breakfast. This is a very clean, great place to stay in the Northwest area of Calgary where accomodation choices are not abundant. Thanks for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theatrebuff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#46 of 109 in Calgary
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
627 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 5544 Dalhousie Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing