We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for Stampede”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal location for Stampede”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

One train stop away from Stampede Park, train stops at bottom of hotel car park. Rooms comfortable, staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    111
    97
    22
    22
See reviews for
67
74
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed here for 2 night as part of our honeymoon around Canada. We were really pleased with the hotel, it was a good size room and bed with a huge TV. The staff were welcoming and the breakfast was also good. We didn't go for the buffet but just the a la carte. Overall would recommend this hotel if you don't want to stay in the centre of town.

Also the pool is great with towels provided, although it seems to be backing onto some people's rooms.

Overall great value!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCBSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My wife and I totally enjoyed our stay @ the Holiday Inn on Macleod Trail. We would like to thank the awesome staff mostly Leslie the night girl, Carlos and Haniso. You people are awesome!!!! Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank louchuckCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Just returned from a 2 night stay at what used to be Holiday Inn. great location if attending the Calgary Stampede as train station adjacent to hotel and only 2 stops away (remember to have plenty of coins with you - train is $2.25 each way). Hotel staff friendly and helpful. allowed our teenage son to use office computer for the internet for no charge. Hotel fairly average - only comment really is that the lighting in the restaurant is very poor.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank GuildfordTodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

Hotel is showing it's age. Service was nice. Room was average sized, and nicely appointed, but showing it's age.

My toilet ran all day and night intermittedly...very annoying.

Internet access was good and fast in the room.

Front desk staff helpful at suggesting places to eat.

MY room overlooked the parking lot, and it seemed to be gathering place for kids all night, but other than that ok.

  • Liked — Location, Brand Name
  • Disliked — Showing age, parking lot noise.
Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank dogmantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2007

This hotel is wonderful it has a professional friendly staff and great rooms you get what you pay for so those that have complained should perhaps decide what they want and pay for it.

The rooms I have stayed in are fabulous clean and warm and comfortable. Your privacy is respected.

This is also a really "family" place and it warms the heart to hear kids having fun.

There are numerous restaraunts close by and easy transportation access.

This is a wonderful place to stay while in Calgary. I have stayed in many high quality hotels and this hotel is the one I recommend.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jake90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

I didn't mind this hotel being outside of the downtown area since it was so easy to take the tram. (An easy walk out of the hotel down the hill of the parking lot, to the left through the opening in the fence and you'll see it.)
On the day I arrived, (8/13/06), I had to wait a few minutes to go inside & check in since there had been some carbon momoxide leak situation in the restaurant. The TV cameras tried to interview me & everything. The following morning I had a note under my door apologizing for the incident, possible lack of cleaning for that day, and free breakfast coupons.
What I liked is that there are a few fast food joints and a 7-11 within a decent walking distance.
The pool was "OK", the room was decent (bathroom as well). The hallways weren't too smelly from what I thought.
I appreciated how the staff was friendly and frequently inquisitive as to how my stay was going.

  • Liked — Easy access to downtown via nearby tram stop
  • Disliked — Had to find out from TV interviewer about carbon monoxide situation
  • Tips/Secrets — Take northbound tram to get downtown. Must have correct change for ticket purchase from machine prior to boarding tram.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#75 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#89 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#23 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Property: Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Address: 4206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing