We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded most expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Sundre, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Exceeded most expectations”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed with a large group (67 rooms) for a corporate function. The rooms weren't huge or fancy (we had two double beds which I haven't seen in a hotel in a long time) but they were clean and furnishings were current. Free wifi was nice too.
We dined in the on site restaurant for breakfast and everyone enjoyed their meals.
The staff were hugely accomodating in making sure we had food and beverage service, calling taxis for all 120 or so of us and even extending their usual lounge hours so we could stay and celebrate. They certainly went above and beyond what we had expected.

Room Tip: I'd request a king bed if I had the choice, the double/double combo doesn't work well for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmomSundre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Travelmom Sundre thank you very much for taking the time to share your great review. We very much enjoyed hosting your group this past weekend and was glad to read that everyone had a great time during your business trip.

Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    112
    99
    22
    22
See reviews for
69
74
26
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Clean and comfortable place. Average Holiday Inn. The pool area was clean with towels. The only thing is that the housekeeping knocked to the door at 8:00, don't forget to place your sign. We asked to leave at 12:00 instead of 11:00 and the accepted.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review we were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do apologize for the Housekeeping department waking you up early, we will certainly review this policy with the entire team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights and the hotel itself is clean and the front desk staff is really nice, although I found the rooms to be a little on the small side.

The real issue with this place is the parking lot. The spots are too small, it's very busy, and the place is filled with "hosers" -- go look up the term if you're unfamiliar with it. I woke up late one night to see a bunch of these guys doing donuts in the parking lot with a truck and they nearly took out a few cars in the process. Fortunately I called the front desk and the security guard went out to talk to them, but he couldn't really do anything.

I was also woken up by people drag racing trucks in the back lot and other yahoo's yelling and screaming early in the morning hours. If this had happened for just one night I might let it go and overlook it, but this stuff happened every night. Maybe I just picked a bad time to be there, but I get the feeling this happens a lot.

For what you pay to stay there, you can get a better deal. At least the hotel inside is alright.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontario_Guy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I am very sorry for the disturbances caused by these individuals deciding to joy ride in our parking lot, I was glad to read that our security team was notified and attempted to stop this activity. I apologize for the inconvenience.

We very hope that you decide to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Came over from england on holiday to see friends out here and stayed for 4 nights. Room was good and wifi was fast although would have liked a few more good channels on the tv.

Ordered room service quite a bit, food was ok but could have been more choice on the dinner menu. Prices were reasonable. All room service staff were nice except for one... i ordered a steak and fries and i got vegetable instead when i specifically asked for fries. room service gir who was quite young long hair had a bit of a attitude and told me i didnt order them when i know for a fact i did, she moaned for a while until she said ok i'll bring you fries. turned up and just handed them to me being a bit rude.

Finally house keeping......a bit of a pain! They knocked on my door 4 times of a morning! The first time often waking me up! i wish i had a do not disturb sign but i wasnt given one (not sure if the hotel use them.) Then one day i had a receptionist knock on my door saying i was meant to check out today although i had been booked in for another night that morning. (lack of communication between staff).

Overall wouldnt stay again mainly as housekeeping shouldnt disturb you so much and got very annoying! There are other hotels around that are cheaper and better.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter-T1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
jetsetter thank you very much for your comments and I apologize for the inconveniences caused during your recent visit.

I have discussed your room service comment with our Food and Beverage Manager and will ensure we discuss with our staff the importance of customer service.

With regards to Housekeeping we provide Do Not Disturb signs in all guest rooms and apologize for your room not having one or misplacing it, as well we attempt to confirm on your signed registration card at check in your departure date ,if there are no changes we ensure the check out date is matched in our Computer system, it is policy to knock on doors after check out hour to ensure room is vacant as well as to ensure safety for our guests.

These are not typical comments we receive so we wish to apologize once again and do hope that we have an opportunity in the future to provide you the services that we accustomed to offering.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Spent 1 night here recently on a business trip. I picked it since it was relatively close to my meeting. The front reception was receptive and friendly. I requested a late check out and was given 1PM which was fine with me as I wanted to change clothes after my meeting. Getting to the room is somewhat disjointed without an elevator on the ground floor. You either go up or down a small flight of stairs and then walk to the elevator. Not an issue for me but I wonder what the protocol is if someone can't walk up and down a small set of stairs?
The room was spacious enough and had everything you'd expect in a hotel. The bed was fine to sleep in and even had two sets of pillows; soft and firm. I would have to say the room was rather dry and the sheets had a lot of static.
Had breakfast in the morning which was tasty enough. The serving staff was quite attentive.
There is a pool and fitness area but I didn't use them so I can't make a comment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we were pleased to read that all was satisfactory and as expected.

With regards to elevators and guests in need, our first floor hotel entrance is ground level and has easy access to an elevator if unable to manage the few stairs, our staff members also try to offer luggage assistance in order to assist all guests, I am hopeful this assistance was provided.

Thank you very much for your busines and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
613 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I spent 3 nights on a business trip @ the Holiday Inn. It is conveniently located on the Macleod Trail South with plenty of free of charge parking space. The entrance level contains the lobby and the restaurant and the rooms are located one floor up and down. The rooms are in standard size. They had a good selection of dishes for breakfast and I also had a tasty lunch in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, and your great review.

Your business is appreciated and we wish you a Happy Holiday season, We look forward to your future visit with us in the new year.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I traveled to Calgary for a funeral. It was a last minute booking & last minute trip - you just can plan for these things.

The hotel was convenient to the funeral home.

Despite it being last minute, the staff greeted me warmly and with lots of smiles.

The room was well appointed and very clean.

Staff made the visit a very pleasant one.

Room service was quick to respond and the food was great - portions were big.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are not on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review, I am sorry to read that your visit was due to a funeral but I was pleased to read that we were able to greet you in a friendly and warm manner and provide a comfortable room during your stay.

Thank you very much and we hope to have you visit us again real soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 109 in Calgary
174 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#87 of 109 in Calgary
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Travelodge Calgary South
Travelodge Calgary South
#90 of 109 in Calgary
240 reviews
Hotel Blackfoot
#24 of 109 in Calgary
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Property: Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Address: 4206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing