We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location was decent just outside city, great for Stampede. Rooms were clean, and good size, mine included a couch even though Id never use it was still nice addition.
Hotel was was great, Cindy was top notch every single night. Quick with a come back and always provided great service for all 9 of us with no exception. Would return and recommend the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, we certainly hope you return soon. Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 356 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed two nights of August and was pleased. Friendly staff, decent room, flat screen TV, excellent wireless internet, good beds with your choice of soft or firm pillows, decent restaurant, Given a bottle of water and $10 off restaurant coupon for being a Priority Club member.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed the night of August 20 and was pleased. Friendly staff, decent room, flat screen TV, excellent wireless internet, good beds with your choice of soft or firm pillows, decent restaurant, Given a bottle of water and $10 off restaurant coupon for being a Priority Club member. I was working downtown, but on a budget, so looking for something cheaper than the downtown hotels but still decent; this easily beat my expectations. C-train stop adjacent to hotel made getting to and from downtown a breeze.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your great review. We do offer excellent value, although Calgary is a very busy city and therefore prices might be higher, we are located just 5 minutes south of downtown, so our rates are better and service is just as great. The transit being beside us gets you to downtown very quick, so no parking fees, You can take transit to the Zoo, or Chinook Shopping Mall. You mentioned being a Priority Club Member, this is a great program, especialy being recognized in our numerous Holiday Inn Hotels and IHG Hotels across the world, it is free to join so I suggest you do and start earning points and benefits of being a member.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for over a week during the Calgary Stampede. The light rail station is literally in the back of the carpark so it's ridiculously convenient to get downtown or to the stampede grounds or Saddledome. Parking was included in the room rate and was not a problem even with the hotel fully booked.

Loved the fact that the room had a nice big desk and microwave and fridge. Room had been recently renovated and perfectly comfortable - air con system didn't seem to hold set temperature though.

There was A SINGLE coin operated washing machine which was no where near adequate for the number of people in the hotel - even at 2am I had other guests removing my stuff from the machines before they were done resulting in lost underwear and odd socks!! NOT HAPPY!!

Ate once in the restaurant downstairs - was perfectly reasonable - nothing outstanding but not grossly over priced either. The staff were all friendly.

With the comments about the elevator here's how it goes:
The hotel rooms are split over 4 levels - the elevator services all 4 levels.
The lobby is at a level equivalent to 3.5 and is essentially in a separate but attached building. So by entering from the front of the lobby you have stairs to access the lift to all the levels of guest rooms. However if you enter the guest building direct from the carpark you will have no stairs to access the lift to all floors. It's really not the hassle that other reviewers have complained about.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mad_ELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us. You touched on so many important features of our hotel, and one of them being so close to downtown, stampede park, and major shopping centers. We have the transit located right beside us which allows you to leave your car with us, as well we offer free parking. We do have microwaves and fridges however not in all rooms so I always suggest that you place that request at time of booking and we will ensure that all is ready upon arrival. We decided to place a washer and dryer on site because we noticed more long stay guests and they requested this so we were able to install one washer and one dryer on the main floor. I am sorry you had to wait and that someone removed your items, we unfortunately do not have the space to add more but will consider if the opportunity presents itself in the future. Thanks for your explanation of th elayout of our Hotel, although many comment on it you are correct, we have elevators, we have entrances, it is one long hotel, but we are on a hillside so there are a few inconveniences, so please if you need help, luggage asisstance, directions where to best park, please ask as our staff, they are all so willing to help.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is your typical hotel. It is a good location if you don't wish to be downtown yet it is close to the city. The hotel has been fixed but it is showing it's age. Some of the windows are pretty old and hard to open. We arrived and we were given a room where someone had cleaned a good portion of the rug and it was very wet. When we noted this to the staff we were immediately given a room across the hall, no problem. That is good service. The staff is very pleasant and efficient. Large enough room, clean good comfortable bed. We stayed for one night. Easy to get on the highway and easy to enjoy the downtown. Breakfast was nice but not included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and positive review with regards to your stay with us. You had mentioned a comment about the windows and I just wanted to share that we are gradually replacing and hope to have them all replaced by first quarter in 2013. I was sorry to read that we placed you in a room in which we recently shampooed, we attempt to shampoo each room monthly and we failed to confirm this carpet was dry prior to you entering, I was very glad to see that our staff reacted and arranged a room move. We thank you very much for your business and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our family stayed here for 6 nights. We had a sporting event at the Talisman Centre. This hotel was ideally located on the LRT (literally through the back fence!). The staff were great and very helpful. The rooms were ordinary but very clean as was the hotel itself. The pool's chlorine levels were a bit high and caused some eye irritation in my kids.
I'd absolutely stay here again. The price was right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we were all please to see you enjoyed your stay during your sporting event, the city has just been so busy with Lacrosse tournaments, Swimming events, Golf events, and so much more. I am hopeful your event was great and we thank you for your business and look forward to one day visiting us again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

stayed here for the stampede, good location for the Ctrain which takes you to the stampede park and on into town for a few dollars, although the hotel is getting on a bit it was clean and tidy, what stoud out was the staff who went out of their way to help, nothing was to much trouble, how it should be!

Room Tip: one end of the hotel is near the c train line so if you are light sleeper you might prefer asking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCalgary, General Manager at Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so very much, I was so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful Calgary Stampede. It is so nice to have th etrain located beside us, therefore our guests can use to go to the Calgary Zoo, Stampede Grounds, The home of th eCalgary Flames, even downtown if travelling on business. Thank you for your kind comment about our employees, they will be please once we post your review. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southwest Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites South
Comfort Inn & Suites South
#78 of 110 in Calgary
177 reviews
Days Inn - Calgary South
#86 of 110 in Calgary
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Econo Lodge South
#87 of 110 in Calgary
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South

Address: 4206 Macleod Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $100 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Calgary Hotel that Offers Comfort and Convenience Take a video tour of this hotel! The Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is ideally located close to Calgary's vibrant downtown core with easy access to Calgary attractions and businesses - as well as the Calgary International Airport (YYC). We provide the ideal address while traveling on business with easy and close access to the downtown core, leave your car with us, we are adjacent to the Calgary Public Transit system giving you easy access to the Downtown Core, Calgary Zoo, Princess Island Park, Glenbow Museum and make sure you visit the cities largest mall; Chinook Centre plus many more attractions. Stay connected anywhere with free wireless/wired Internet access in guest rooms and wireless Internet in the public areas, meeting rooms and restaurant. If you wish to relax at the hotel please visit South 42 Restaurant & Lounge a great place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, luncheon meeting or a quiet dinner for two. Our lounge offers a comfortable atmosphere to relax at the end of a hectic day. When it's time to relax at this Calgary Hotel enjoy the heated indoor pool, 24 hour fitness center and business center. We are also proud to be pet friendly. Holiday Inn Calgary Macleod Trail South is the place to stay and play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Calgary - Macleod Trail South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calgary-Macleod Trail South Hotel Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing