We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate for a small gathering of friends but not 'high end' dining.”

Redwater Rustic Grille - Northwest
Ranked #1,030 of 3,530 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Description: Nestled between the city's bustling university campus and home of the Calgary Stampeders, Redwater Grille Stadium location brings a welcome charm and casual sophistication to the lively neighbourhood. Soft lighting and a warm and inviting ambiance set the stage for an intimate dining experience. Lauded for its seasonally inspired cuisine, award winning wine list and approachable service, Redwater has three spectacular spaces to enjoy lunch and dinner. From pre-game drinks in the lounge to soaking up the sun on the patio and enjoying a cozy, romantic evening in the dining room, Redwater welcomes you.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Adequate for a small gathering of friends but not 'high end' dining.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked a midweek lunch here for a group of colleagues. The food was ok but nothing magnificent and not particularly hot when it arrived. The price was reasonable and the location is good for parking. The restaurant is tastefully decorated and the staff are attentive. Being close to Christmas it was very busy. Word of caution; if you have mobility issues, as one of our group did, be advised that the restrooms are down in the basement area and not particularly 'handicap or disable' accessible.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutch333id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    47
    13
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent service”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Appies, mains, and deserts were all excellent quality, and the staff quickly brought a special / idiosyncratic supplementary garnish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CameraBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Slightly pricey but excellent tasty food”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited the Grille again and were not disappointed. The bread brought was tasty. The ribeye steak was juicy perfectly done even @ Medium well and extremely delicious to the last bite.
The potato side dish was good--they have replaced the potato cake/pastry unfortunately which was much butter.
The desserts sorbets, chocolate tart and creme brule were enjoyed by each of us respectively.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karma203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth the search!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I often stay in Calgary NE and this restaurant came highly recommended by the front staff at Radisson. It is just 4 minutes from the number of hotels/motels in Calgary's well known Motel Village so we headed out instead of visiting our reliable "Earl's". We so enjoyed the experience, we returned the next evening! Their suggestion for wine was spot on and we traded up the food from the previous evening. As one of our dinners was Friday, we bagged a reservation but as we were not back into Calgary until after 9:00pm, we were well past the late evening crowd and the restaurant was only sparsely filled. Prices are to the high end but then, so is the food.

The beef soup was incredible and their pork chop was well worth the late visit. My friend had the steak and their pasta and even though he is now safely back in Toronto, he is still raving. This eatery is worth the small bit of searching it takes to find it.

Hint: It is located right behind The Keg on the Trans Canada Highway

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Overpriced and edible at best”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here for supper, as we have had good experience with the one on McLeod trail down south before. This one was the opposite experience. To start off the cutlery had dried food on it, once the waiter took the dirty fork, he never replaced it. We ordered two appetizers, the crab cakes ( which were good, not great ) and the chilli lime chicken tacos ( which were very salty and had hard pieces of who knows what in it ) the crab cakes came in threes, we asked for an extra one, which not worth the $4 extra. My wife had a salad, which again was good but not great, she added scallops, and again,good but not worth the $12 they charged for them. I had the bison burger, it was Luke warm at best, and I have seen bigger patties on a McDonald's hamburger. The burger patty was thin and dry and tasteless, the bun was even drier and the fixings were soggy. The waiter never asked how the food tasted or I would have told him. For the prices they charge, the food and service was quite poor, and it was not busy at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wongchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwater Rustic Grille - Northwest also viewed

 

Been to Redwater Rustic Grille - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing