We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef's Table & Avenue Magazine---What a Pairing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef's Table at Kensington Riverside Inn

Chef's Table at Kensington Riverside Inn
Ranked #131 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 10 "A" Street
Transit: Close to Sunnyside C-train station
Description: Chef's Table is a CAA four-diamond award-winning upscale 40-seat restaurant residing at the Kensington Riverside Inn, Calgary's only Relais & Chateaux property. Chef's Table is one of Calgary's top fine-dining establishments, serving modern French cuisine in a uniquely memorable dining experience. Chef de Cuisine Michel Nop showcases his passion for food in our open concept kitchen. Enjoy breakfast, dinner or weekend brunch in our intimate 40-seat restaurant. Dine indoors or sit outside on our patio overlooking the Bow River, open seasonally from mid-May through September. Be sure to ask about our ever-changing tasting menus with wine pairings. Passing through the neighbourhood? ... Chef's Table is available for special events, receptions and weddings.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chef's Table & Avenue Magazine---What a Pairing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We were seeking a more than ordinary way to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and chose the special event at KRI/Chef's Table because of the timing and venue. What a windfall and proof that anything worthwhile is worth waiting for...this was extraordinary in every detail and delightful in personalities, product, presentation and party atmosphere. We had a memorable evening and plan to return in May for our "church" Wedding Anniversary!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    18
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Fabulous food - WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very much enjoyed Avenue Dinner Series at the Riverside - what a wonderful menu, and food / wine was fantastic!

I hope to visit again in the summer, out on the patio!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have had in Calgary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Not only was the food superb but the attention to our party's needs was also outstanding. We required a quiet atmosphere for our hearing impaired guest as well as a vegetarian menu for another guest. We were also celebrating a birthday and that was also taken care of. The service was amazing - thanks Hans!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I were guests at the hotel and were treated to breakfast in the morning. I thoroughly enjoyed the eggs benedict while my wife enjoyed the sweet potato hash. The server was exceptional, bright and cheery. It was great to see the chef work right there in the kitchen, too.

Our food was delicious and well-prepared. The plating was beautiful and it was a delight to eat her.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience ... will be back soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I went to Chef's Table as it was one of the few places we had not yet been to on the Big Taste Calgary rotation. We stuck with the set tasting menu and it was by far one of the best meals we've had in a long time.
We sat at the table right in front of the kitchen and it did not disappoint. Some may not like being so intimate with the chef's but we really enjoyed the atmosphere, watching our dishes be immaculately created in front of us.
We will have to be back to try the rest of the menu!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Table at Kensington Riverside Inn also viewed

 

Been to Chef's Table at Kensington Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing