We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and full of SURPRISES!!!”
Review of Zen Restaurant - CLOSED

Zen Restaurant
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of downtown, Zen is Calgary's most frequented Japanese restaurant. With a large focus and commitment to freshness, Zen has fish flown in from the Maritimes and Tokyo on a daily basis.
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Expensive and full of SURPRISES!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

At the terrible suggestion of my hotel, I led 3 colleagues to this place for what we hoped was going to be a good sushi dinner. After spending 20 minutes putting our order together and submitting it, the waitress returned to our table to let us know the restaurant had no red tuna. I have NEVER heard anything like that! I wonder if the steakhouse next door had beef?

We should have left then and there, big mistake. We altered our order best we could, but what a mess. The food came out, 90% ended up in the garbage and our disappointment was handled with a $240.00 bill.

They replaced the maguro (red tuna) with white tuna and who knows what all over... Same price. Every roll was DRENCHED in mayos and other sauces. Rolls were falling apart... We just left.

Thank god for the pizza place around the corner. This establishment should be ashamed for attaching a bill to the experience they provided us!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZENCalgary, Owner at Zen Restaurant, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Kevin

We are very sorry about your experience at ZEN. Usually we do have a Red Tuna everyday, but on the day of your visit we actually returned the Red Tuna that was sent to us. It didn't meet our standards of quality and we do not serve low quality sushi to our guests. We welcome you to contact us if you have any further questions. If you are coming to Calgary next time, Please contact us and We will make sure we have everything what you looking for.

Arigato

Thank you,

ZEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Creative”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Tasty and creative dishes, really enjoyed chicken and salmon volcano dishes, good sushi, limited wine selection

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZENCalgary, Owner at Zen Restaurant, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, Yes, we have limited wine selections, but we believe we have good wines and half of our wine list is exclusive at ZEN.
And we are updating wine list next month so please come and try our new wines.

Thank you,
Arigato

ZEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There are better places for the price paid”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We paid the same amount at Zen that we did at Ki Modern (which was phenomenal service and food), only to get very slow service and average sushi.

If you like traditional sushi, slightly over priced with not so good service this is the place for you!

My friend was turned off by a bad piece of tuna sashimi and didnt even finish her meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZENCalgary, Owner at Zen Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Our apologies that our food & service wasn't up to par during your visit.
Thank you for the comment, in which we will take into consideration and improve our service and food so that the next time you visit us, it will not be the same poor quality.
We sincerely apologize.

ZEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food good mood”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Great modern japanese. Try the zen chicken. Yum! Sad that this place is dead for a Monday night! Great tasting sushi. Generous servings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bukuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZENCalgary, Owner at Zen Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I glad you like our Volcano chicken and service. Usually our restaurant is busy lunch and dinner but yes, there is some slow night.

Thank you for your feedback.

ZEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Japaness Resturent in Calgary”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I went twice to zain japanesse resturent. The stuff are very polit and friendly. The food was tasty . I ordered the last sumurai maki which was a compination of shrimp , crab and avocado. Also i ordered volcano shrimp. The prices are responable . I highly recomending it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdulla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZENCalgary, Owner at Zen Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, your comment is encouraging to us.
Thank you again!

ZEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing