We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi and beer”
Review of Zen Restaurant - CLOSED

Zen Restaurant
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of downtown, Zen is Calgary's most frequented Japanese restaurant. With a large focus and commitment to freshness, Zen has fish flown in from the Maritimes and Tokyo on a daily basis.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sushi and beer”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great Place! The service was cool, and the fish was fresh! What more could you ask for?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Cub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good - I'll go back.”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great atmosphere, great service, delicious food AND they use brown rice in their sushi - love that. I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Live_Life_Big
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's all about the Sushi!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Excellent menu and always a super friendly staff! The Japanese beer is wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like the set up”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Great Sushi, Japanese cuisine, but what I liked best is that you always get a private booth/room, with a curtain over the entrance. Top notch, excellent date location, or a place to discuss a business deal with at least the illusion of privacy if not the reality of it.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank regisjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“"Fresh" is the operative word ...”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

By recommendation of the hotel concierge we walked over to Zen 8 on 414 3rd Street SW in Calgary; a three minute walk from the Westin Calgary (downtown) hotel to the restaurant.

What a delightful surprise. With both booth and window seating options, this is a restaurant that one can feel fully comfortable casually dressed - we were. What were outstanding for us was the gracious Japanese service, and the quality and presentation of the dishes.

The Miso soup is now a benchmark for us; it was still light, but more flavourful and delicately enhanced with mushrooms and other fine Japanese ingredients. I enjoyed the seaweed salad - also light and delicious, and then proceeded with selecting a slow progression of assorted dishes from their menu. The scallops were sooooo fresh! The evening was terrific.

I am particularly aware of presentation, pride in work and ambiance. I give Zen 8 a 10/10.

Thank you Tetsu and Carmen - a wonderful surprise!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msfirefly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing