We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - I'll go back.”
Review of Zen Restaurant - CLOSED

Zen Restaurant
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of downtown, Zen is Calgary's most frequented Japanese restaurant. With a large focus and commitment to freshness, Zen has fish flown in from the Maritimes and Tokyo on a daily basis.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good - I'll go back.”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great atmosphere, great service, delicious food AND they use brown rice in their sushi - love that. I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Live_Life_Big
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's all about the Sushi!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Excellent menu and always a super friendly staff! The Japanese beer is wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like the set up”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Great Sushi, Japanese cuisine, but what I liked best is that you always get a private booth/room, with a curtain over the entrance. Top notch, excellent date location, or a place to discuss a business deal with at least the illusion of privacy if not the reality of it.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank regisjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“"Fresh" is the operative word ...”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

By recommendation of the hotel concierge we walked over to Zen 8 on 414 3rd Street SW in Calgary; a three minute walk from the Westin Calgary (downtown) hotel to the restaurant.

What a delightful surprise. With both booth and window seating options, this is a restaurant that one can feel fully comfortable casually dressed - we were. What were outstanding for us was the gracious Japanese service, and the quality and presentation of the dishes.

The Miso soup is now a benchmark for us; it was still light, but more flavourful and delicately enhanced with mushrooms and other fine Japanese ingredients. I enjoyed the seaweed salad - also light and delicious, and then proceeded with selecting a slow progression of assorted dishes from their menu. The scallops were sooooo fresh! The evening was terrific.

I am particularly aware of presentation, pride in work and ambiance. I give Zen 8 a 10/10.

Thank you Tetsu and Carmen - a wonderful surprise!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msfirefly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Nice decor, and interesting menu. You are given a felt pen to check the items you wish to order from the lamenated menu. Two of us shared some gyoza, california roll, yam tempura, tamago & salmon sashimi. The price was fairly resonable, the quality was good and it was an all-round enjoyable lunch. Staff are quick so you can have a pretty fast lunch if need be.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vansportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing