We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Amazing food”
Review of Masala Mantra

Masala Mantra
Ranked #358 of 4,028 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $15
Description: You will find here best Indian food in Calgary.
Restaurant details
Description: You will find here best Indian food in Calgary.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Service provided by owner is outstanding,Must say can;t find this level of service in Calgary so far.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jshilpi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 42 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2018

Calgary has some really good and some really terrible Indian food. Masala Mantra falls into the really good. The main staples of butter chicken that was not rubbery with great flavour to the naan bread was excellent. Ordering was easy and pickup was efficient in 20 minutes. Centrally located in the belt line on 11th Avenue SW for easy in and out.

Will definately try again

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Icedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018

My wife and I decided to give this place a try through the Skip The Dishes delivery program. We ordered aloo Ghobi, coconut prawns, butter chicken, papadums, saffron rice, gulab jahmen, garlic nlaan bread, vegetable pakoras and chicken pakoras.

Serving sizes were normal, and taste was average, but we were very disappointed that the sauces were extremely runny - would not stick to the nana bread - and the actual amount of meat/prawns was very small so we were essentially left with a topping for rice at best.

The highlight of the meal was the nana bread which had a nice chew and flavour.

We have eaten at many of Calgary's Indian restaurants and there are much better places. We won't be back - life's too short for mediocre curry.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018 via mobile

Went in for an afternoon meeting and lunch, greeted fairly by a woman (found out later she's the owner). She was also the server. I would advise her not to make faces because it was very noticeable, (happened every time I ordered something) & made me feel embarrassed. My second advise is to be on top of cleaning floors and tables. Last advise, chef must look presentable at all times. Other than that, food was good. Thumbs up to the chef.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Ash N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

I didn’t think any place in Calgary could compete with the Himalayan for a spectacular butter sauce but this was so creamy and flavorful. It is a must try. All other dishes were good and staff is friendly.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank quentinkrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Mantra also viewed

 

Been to Masala Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing