We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Gourment Dining Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Post Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gourment Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently traveled to Lake Louise for skiing. A fellow skier recommended this gem or we would never had known about it. First of all the ambience is wonderful: warm, inviting and romantic. There is a beautiful sitting area with a blazing fireplace right off the entry of the restuarant. One of the owners (2 gentlemen) took our coats and hung them in a beautiful armoir before seating us. The wine list is AMAZING....and daunting! But the sommelier was wonderful and incredibly knowledgeable. We could see part of the wine cellar through a glass door and asked if we could have a tour. To our absolute delight, she gave us a tour at the end of our evening. 27,000 bottles of wine arranged by region and vintage! It was the perfect end to a wonderful evening. We were seated in an area that also had a fireplace and near a window that looked out on a skating area; just beautiful. You MUST have the lobster bisque! We've traveled the world and its the best we've ever had. We also had the crab salad which was another winner. The favorite entree was the bison though all of our meals (there were 4 of us) were outstanding. Our waiter was super; his name is Michael and if you dine there, request him. The prices are high but well worth it if you appreciate great gourmet food with five star service. If we return to Lake Louise, it will be with a reservation to the Post Hotel restraurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel4Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    94
    41
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of 8 as needed some place different to dine while staying at the Chateau. The restaurant is very cozy with a wood burning fieldstone fireplace and plenty of windows to see the falling snow and lights. The staff was excellent and knew every little detail about each food item and the wines. The waiter reviewed the extensive menu with us and answered all our questions. The wine list and cellar is exceptional with 25,000 bottles and by no means inexpensive! We had foie gras, lobster bisque, lobster cannelloni, and gnocchi for starters and they were all exceptional. My bisque was a bit salty even for me who loves salt. For mains, a few had the caribou which they raved about and others had the best Alberta beef tenderloin and veal dishes. I ha the ahi tuna steak which was just minimally seared with a crispy lobster, squash mash underneath. We needed some help picking the wines as the list is exhaustive, but be cogniscent of the prices while the staff are recommending wines, as we almost picked a $1200 bottle as compared to the $100 bottle! There is a cigar and scotch room just off the dining room with nice leather chairs and sofas and everyone looked to be enjoying themselves. Overall a great dining experience and would highly recommend for a special treat!

Helpful?
1 Thank SALOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We returned after 7 years, because I craved the pear cider served here. My husband's burger was really good, but the fries looked like soggy, frozen ones. The pizza that I ordered was too doughy and cheesy. The server was very friendly and we like the atmosphere. Not sure about going back, because of my food disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LYFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Definitely pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Decided to book dinner here based on all the glowing reviews I read here. The atmosphere was lovely...the fire made it nice and cozy.

Service was very good, our waiter was very helpful in recommending a wine from the huge wine list. Enjoyed the wine very much. The food was also very good, just not as exceptional as I was expecting. We had the filet and the bison.

Dinner for the two of us with wine (one of the less expensive bottles) cost more than our 2-night hotel stay (not at the Post hotel)! It's nice to splurge once in a while though :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice spot
Waitresses seemed cranky but not too bad I guess It was fairly busy but I thought it would of been a little more up scale

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dogeatsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Post Hotel & Spa also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing