We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great view!”
Review of Lakeview Lounge

Lakeview Lounge
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 10/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: Healthy, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: One of the most iconic lobby lounges in the Canadian Rockies, the Lakeview Lounge offers a charming and elegant setting to sip on a sophisticated cocktail or an illustrious wine. Sit back, relax and admire the spectacular, world-class views of Lake Louise and Victoria Glacier. The combination of architectural and natural beauty makes for an unforgettable lobby lounge experience in the heart of Banff National Park. During the summer months, soak up the fresh mountain air and surrounding beauty from one of the most scenic patios in the Canadian Rockies. Please note that priority seating is given to registered in-house guests.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

We ate here on our first night at the hotel and enjoyed our food quite a bit but the best part was the stunning view of the lake through huge windows. The service was friendly and prompt. The wait for a table ended up being only half as long as the hostess had estimated.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank LilyVonSchtupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, On behalf of the Lakeview Lounge team at Lakeview Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear LilyVonSchtupp,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lakeview Lounge and thank you for choosing to dine with us.
We are pleased to know that you had prompt, friendly service and that you enjoyed the food quality. The views were just a bonus!
During peak seasons there is generally a wait to get into the Lounge but we are glad that it was less time than anticipated.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 578 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2016

We stopped in for a glass of wine for my wife. It is quite popular and if you are not a guest they charge $4 cover per person. They also have outdoor seating, the views of Lake Louise are just amazing. One glass of wine with cover and tip for two was $33. Very very expensive, but it was jam packed.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Roddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, On behalf of the Lakeview Lounge team at Lakeview Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear Roddy66,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lakeview Lounge and thank you for choosing to have a drink with us.
Our surcharge is for the patio only for out of house guests. Our in house guests take priority in all of our restaurants due to the large volume of day visitors.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

After a hike up to lake Agnes we decided to enjoy the view a bit longer before heading back to Banff and have dinner at the Lakeview Lounge. We ordered Lobster Croissant which was ok but nothing special, French Onion soup that was divine and after sharing the whole family, including children had wished they had ordered this. Mushroom soup terrible, kids meal was hummus and veggies, small for the price, no real variety of veggies and no free drink or dessert with it, which i felt because of the small portion was expensive for the price and a Chicken cordenblur which was very adverage. The staff friendly. We were suprised to find out that you can't sit outside unless you are a hotel guest. We had a window with a view so it wasn't a problem.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 594wendyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, On behalf of the Lakeview Lounge team at Lakeview Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear Wendy R,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lakeview Lounge and thank you for dining with us.
We are disappointed in your mixed reviews on our food quality and portion size. We strive to provide the best food possible with the freshest ingredients on hand and "just ok" is not good enough. We apologize that you did not enjoy the Lobster Croissant or the Mushroom soup and that you found the children's veggies and hummus to be of a smaller portion for the price.
Out of house guests in fact can sit on the patio with a $4 surcharge. In house guests do take priority in all restaurants.

Thank you again for your feedback, we do hope that if you wish to return you have a more pleasant dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016

We decided to eat at Lake Louise Chateau. This restaurant was able to seat us without reservations. Huge windows that look out onto the lake and surrounding mountains. I had the chicken wings with a cherry maple sauce. It was delicious and filling. There are vegige burgers and many other things to choose from.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, On behalf of the Lakeview Lounge team at Lakeview Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Dear Kim M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lakeview Lounge.
We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience during your most recent visit to the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and that you enjoyed the food and view.

Thank you again and we hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016

Take a few hour to seat and eat looking at thaat lake. The food is really good, but the view is awsome!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Dewellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, On behalf of the Lakeview Lounge team at Lakeview Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear Dewellner,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lakeview Lounge.
We are glad you joined us for a meal and that you had an enjoyable time soaking in the views.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeview Lounge also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lakeview Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.