We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No More Visits, Thank You”

Lake Louise Station Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No More Visits, Thank You”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Believing that this handsome restaurant must have gotten better in the last two years, we set
out to enjoy lunch.
Let it be said from the onset, that the character of the restaurant is superior - with historical
memorabilia upstairs, downstairs, and outside; it's an education.
Let it also be said that the staff are exceedingly pleasant and helpful; they rate an A+.

We eagerly ordered steak sandwiches ($20@).
Whenever someone marinates beef, I suspect that it is to disguise or otherwise mask something characteristically bad about that piece of meat.
Suffice to say, we both agreed that it was THE WORST steak sandwich...or any other kind of steak...that we had ever eaten in our long lives.
Within an hour of leaving the restaurant, one of us had a severe reaction (we'll leave it at that).
The fact that there is really no competition for 'the station' (save for the Post Hotel), is why we theorize that it would fail...and fail quickly - unless and until someone changes the way in which
food is prepared.
If you nevertheless go, it would be wise to make it for drinks...and give the food a big pass.
The neighboring Post Hotel is always perfect in every regard, and it is recommended without
qualification or exception...be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenWesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    188
    78
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was the Lake Louise train station !”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The train station is full of history and the food was very good ! The staff is very friendly they know the area and history !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank southgate9974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Old Style Ambience”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We ate tonight at the Station Restaurant. The staff are extremely friendly and we were served by Rob when we sat in the lounge. The building is fantastic and the food we ate was wonderfully prepared and served. The Clam Chowder that my wife and I had tasted home made and was served with delicious warm bread. For a main I had the pork short rib which was melt in your mouth and was served with vegetables. Generally the menu was varied and eating in the wood paneled room one could think of being back in the day when people traveled up to Lake Louise and came through the station on there way to the Chateau.
After dinner we went for a walk and Jerry the owner was kind enough to show us through the railway dining cars that are located next to the building.
If you are in Lake Louise I recommend that you try it out. It's a ten minute walk from the village.

Graeme Mitchell: North Vancouver

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ticket to eat”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Have just returned from this inspiring restaurant. Looking for a decent evening meal in the area of Lake Louise we referred to our trusty guide book and were definitively NOT disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were courteous and welcoming, well trained and attentive. The food was extremely well presented and of a high standard. It was also unique having freight trains passing the windows whilst we were eating!

Thank you and well done

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeysomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Gourmet Food!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you're looking for a great spot to eat, drink and rediscover the history of our nations great Canadian Pacific Railway, then this is the place. The Station has lovingly been restored by one of the Partners, namely Jerry Cook. He is also the Master Chef behind many of the outstanding dishes offered at The Station. Everything is fresh daily and most of the breads and buns are made right on the premises. The bison and elk burger are tremendous along with many fresh and creative salads which have you coming back for more.....The magnificent fireplace when you first walk through the door makes the ambience warm and inviting and the staff are friendly, courteous and professional. We had a wonderful time, and will definitely be back on our next trip to Lake Louise - you can bet on that!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jugs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Louise Station Restaurant also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Louise Station Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing