We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get much better than this”
Review of Baker Creek Bistro

Baker Creek Bistro
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: International, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Baker Creek Bistro is a quaint log cabin turned restaurant nestled amongst the pine trees on the outskirts of beautiful Lake Louise. With two fire places, separate bar lounge area, perfect for fine dining or intimate getaway to casual, there is something for everyone, family friendly. The rustic menu items house made originals, locally sourced and seasonal.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have eaten here a handful of times and could never fault them. The menu has a lot of yummy things to choose from and every time there was always daily features. You have to come back because between the daily choices plus the menu what are you to choose?! Service is the best we have experienced in Canada, extremely friendly and genuine. In winter, we loved the warm cozy feeling with fireplaces and in summer, you can't beat a drink and a meal on the deck.
We loved the on tap Rutting Elk beer and the awesome bison ribs!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    87
    40
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I am so discouraged by the way we were treated by the management of the baker creek bistro. I used to love baker creek lodge. It was a beautiful solace for me. So much so that when my fiancé and I were deciding wedding venues we chose Baker Creek. When we chose to elope instead of a February wedding, they held our $1500.00 deposit. They conceded to let us eat there to use it. It was impossible to make reservations, no one either answered nor returned calls (which was the same when we were planning the wedding, which was part of the motivation to elope, too much stress with venue). Now the management has changed and still no returning phone calls. They kept $800 after charging us $700 for one meal for 5 adults and never showed us a bill and the service was TERRIBLE. Making us feel bad over ordering coffee at the end of the meal was the last frustration. We wanted to share this place with family and instead apologized for it. the experience was such a letdown I will never stay there again and will tell everyone I know. I was the hotels biggest advocate and now I can't say enough about the extreme .

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Whether it was breakfast, dinner or dessert, their food is really excellent! They stay open until around 21:30 and you should preferably book the previous day if you want to eat there. For now they are not affiliated with the Baler Creek hotel so you can't charge meals to your room. You have to pay there. But they did mention they're working on becoming affiliated with the hotel in this regard.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EtienneStemmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful cozy setting”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We headed to Baker Creek Bistro for dinner to get away from the crowds of The Chateau Lake Louise. It was a little hard to find (signs are few and far between)! But it was worth the drive. The building is a charming log 'cabin' and the fireplaces inside were cozy.

The drinks were just so-so (the lime garnish was mushy and old).
The charcuterie plate was great - a real variety of cheese, meats, crackers, peppers, capers... Very nice.
The spinach salad had foie gras on it which I loved.
I had the pasta and fish in a cream sauce which was quite good, but didn't really wow me.
My husband had veal cheeks which were really tender and delicious. Very hearty.

It was all quite good, but a little pricey. I guess when you are hours from anywhere, they can charge more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant/bar and great food!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Baker Creek is situated on the Bow Valley Parkway, the 1A. From Lake Louise village and/or the ski area it is about a 12 minutes drive.

We ate various times in the restaurant as well as in the bar, both are under the same roof.
The bar is more than just a ‘bar’. It is smaller than the restaurant and the atmosphere and the menu are more casual but it is more than just a drinking place.
Both places are very cosy and comfortable and the restaurant is by no means very posh although the food wouldn’t do wrong in a ‘many star restaurant’!

In the bar you can pick things from the restaurant menu but in the restaurant you can not pick things from the bar menu.

Both the restaurant and the bar have an open log fire and these fires were already on at the moment the door opened in the afternoon, so there was at all times a very warm welcome. We were always greeted by a friendly staff member who took our coats.

The restaurant also offers breakfast and even then they made sure the open log fire was on. It was always a nice start of our skiing day and you can stay at Baker Creek as well. They have great cabins and rooms. We stayed in both.

The food is fabulous! We choose things from both menus and were never disappointed but the highlight was the veal.
We also had the hamburger and various other things amongst which the daily specials. Obviously these vary but our gamble paid out well every time!

It is not cheap but Baker Creek makes such a nice difference from all the other restaurants in Banff/Lake Louise area were we have been to eat.
You go to Baker Creek to have a nice evening out and not just to get your belly filled and don't forget, they offer accommodation too!





Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Creek Bistro also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Baker Creek Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing