We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro at Baker Creek

The Bistro at Baker Creek
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Bistro At Baker Creek is a quaint log house turned restaurant nestled amongst the pine trees on the outskirts of beautiful Lake Louise. With two fire places, separate bar lounge area, perfect for fine dining or intimate getaway to casual, there is something for everyone, family friendly. The rustic menu items house made originals, locally sourced and seasonal.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Whether it was breakfast, dinner or dessert, their food is really excellent! They stay open until around 21:30 and you should preferably book the previous day if you want to eat there. For now they are not affiliated with the Baler Creek hotel so you can't charge meals to your room. You have to pay there. But they did mention they're working on becoming affiliated with the hotel in this regard.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EtienneStemmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    74
    37
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful cozy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We headed to Baker Creek Bistro for dinner to get away from the crowds of The Chateau Lake Louise. It was a little hard to find (signs are few and far between)! But it was worth the drive. The building is a charming log 'cabin' and the fireplaces inside were cozy.

The drinks were just so-so (the lime garnish was mushy and old).
The charcuterie plate was great - a real variety of cheese, meats, crackers, peppers, capers... Very nice.
The spinach salad had foie gras on it which I loved.
I had the pasta and fish in a cream sauce which was quite good, but didn't really wow me.
My husband had veal cheeks which were really tender and delicious. Very hearty.

It was all quite good, but a little pricey. I guess when you are hours from anywhere, they can charge more!

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant/bar and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Baker Creek is situated on the Bow Valley Parkway, the 1A. From Lake Louise village and/or the ski area it is about a 12 minutes drive.

We ate various times in the restaurant as well as in the bar, both are under the same roof.
The bar is more than just a ‘bar’. It is smaller than the restaurant and the atmosphere and the menu are more casual but it is more than just a drinking place.
Both places are very cosy and comfortable and the restaurant is by no means very posh although the food wouldn’t do wrong in a ‘many star restaurant’!

In the bar you can pick things from the restaurant menu but in the restaurant you can not pick things from the bar menu.

Both the restaurant and the bar have an open log fire and these fires were already on at the moment the door opened in the afternoon, so there was at all times a very warm welcome. We were always greeted by a friendly staff member who took our coats.

The restaurant also offers breakfast and even then they made sure the open log fire was on. It was always a nice start of our skiing day and you can stay at Baker Creek as well. They have great cabins and rooms. We stayed in both.

The food is fabulous! We choose things from both menus and were never disappointed but the highlight was the veal.
We also had the hamburger and various other things amongst which the daily specials. Obviously these vary but our gamble paid out well every time!

It is not cheap but Baker Creek makes such a nice difference from all the other restaurants in Banff/Lake Louise area were we have been to eat.
You go to Baker Creek to have a nice evening out and not just to get your belly filled and don't forget, they offer accommodation too!





Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and accommodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food experienced in the Bistro while staying in the nearby Baker Creek chalets was second to none. It's not the cheapest meal you'll ever have but quality has to come at a price. Staff were very friendly and cheerful and there was a wide range of choice on the menu.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nmdl04669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were referred to this wonderful restaurant from a fellow skier we met on the Lake Louise ski hill and it didn't disappoint. It was a fantastic experience from the moment we walked in to giving our compliments to the chef at the end of our meal. My husband ordered the rib steak and I had the braised veal shank. We ordered a bottle of Argentinian wine and our waitress suggested we order the grand cru version of the same wine for a minimal extra charge and it certainly didn't disappoint. She also brought us a tasting of the original wine we'd ordered and there was no comparison. We were so impressed by the meal, we asked to speak to the chef who came out and spoke with us for a few minutes. We can't wait to go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro at Baker Creek also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Bistro at Baker Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing