We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try This Place”

Mountain Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great location for travellers who need a quick bite Great views from our terrace Eclectic menu offering steaks, pastas, and Asian inspired dishes
New Jersey
Level Contributor
672 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Try This Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the food here tonight. Bulgogi was something new to us. It is delicious marinated beef with nice vegetables and rice. we also tried the mountain burger and it, too, was delicious. The service was friendly and fast. The restaurant has beautiful views thru large windows. There were many families so I would recommend everyone try it. I would definitely eat there again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    91
    69
    33
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise at Lake Louise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

There's not a lot of dining choices in Lake Louise unless you're willing to go to one of the hotels. During the recent May long weekend we decided to stop at Lake Louise to grab a quick dinner on our way to Banff. Our first choice was the restaurant in the shopping centre but a couple of tour buses pulled in and unloaded a horde of tourists just as we were driving up. We decided to go over to Mountain Restaurant instead and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is located beside a gas station so we were expecting it to be your typical truck stop serving all day breakfast and club house sandwiches. Instead we found a full service restaurant using fresh local or regional ingredients. The menu is not huge but there's a bit of everything. Our family tried the following entrees; maple salmon, bulgogi, pull pork sandwich, elk burger, crispy chicken linguine and gorgonzola pasta.

We found the food very good and the entree prices reasonable. We do suggest passing on the appetizers since they are expensive for what you get. We had good service but the restaurant was not very busy when we visited. Overall, we had a nice dinner and would not hesitate in returning.

We do have a few suggestions for the restaurant. The stuffed bear up front is cute but having a real hostess to greet and sit customers would be nice. The staff could use a bit more supervision and training in proper restaurant etiquette since they appeared a little too informal in the dining area, they should do their "yakking' in the back. We also saw staff near us using a regular restaurant table to do work like wrapping cutlery in napkins. Stuff like this should also be done in the back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster, Deutschland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad taste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to go there for our dinner. The best of our dinner was the apetizer at the beginning with roasted bread and fresh vegetables by a dip. But our main courses were absolutly terrible. My girlfriend ate salmon which was burned added by cold rice. My steak was ok but thats it. Additionally I ate french fries which was totales dry and and taste like old one. But one positive thing, the waitress was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank s_schm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Yuh, General Manager at Mountain Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I am sorry you had a bad experience with us. The night you came we had just released our new dinner menu. That is no excuse and apologize your food was not up to standard. If you are ever coming through the area, we would love for you to give us another chance and we are willing to provide you a complimentary dinner. Again I apologize you had a bad experience this weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Have to say the food was great. Service was first class. We are here on several occasions and were not disappointed. Prices were reasonable and offers were good. Looked forward to going back.

Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Yuh, General Manager at Mountain Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Positive comments in the restaurant industry is always appreciated! Happy Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Homey Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We each had a wing platter from the appetiser menu but there were only 2 wings on it. It had spring rolls, a small lettuce salad and poutine. It was fine but I was looking for more wings.
The Grasshopper Ale went down too easy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigOldBear05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Yuh, Owner at Mountain Restaurant, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your honest and pleasant review. We are constantly trying to improve our menu, and one item that we are in the midst of changing is our appetizer platter. Yes we have had feedback on our wing portion and are changing that immediately. I am sorry you didn't get enough wings. If you are travelling through Lake Louise again, we are more than happy to offer you free appetizer or drinks. I am glad at least the beer was enjoyable!

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Restaurant also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Mountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing