We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious plus great views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Moraine Lake Lodge
Ranked #21 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
home
Level Contributor
302 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Delicious plus great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had two dinners and two breakfasts here--all of which were delicious. Considering that we were rather isolated from civilization, we were impressed with the creative and scrumptious dinner menus. The wait staff were wonderful. There are some beautiful views of the lake from the dining area.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bobca1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed in the individual lodges overlooking Moraine Lake with stunning scenery and huge open windows.

Wake up literally to the mountains!

Walk freely and great food. Plenty to do or just relax in your private lodge with free wifi, and a log fire and free delivery of logs hourly outside in your own private woodstore.

Very warm and cosy!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mothma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good but doesn't quite make the top ranks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

The food was excellent during our 3 days, with the specials proving to be the better options for both quality and quantity. There seems to be a need for a good maitre d' who can manage the restaurant and staff and ensure that the staff provide an excellent service - they are very willing but are lacking the attention to detail and attitude that would make this more of a fine dining experience

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Lunch vs. dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The deli has a great selection of bottled and other drinks and standard sandwiches with some tasty sandwiches on a pretzel bun. Pleasantly surprised - a solid choice if you're looking for a fast lunch. Can eat outdoors overlooking the lake.

For dinner, I would recommend it for those who are staying at the lodge for one evening (you will need reservations). Were the entrees the best ever? No, but they were above average. The thing is they are hit or miss. There are some uninspired entrees that should be removed from the menu, like the pickerel. The desserts, however, were fabulous. There was a lavender creme brulee that we loved, along with a hot donut and saffron ice cream. Service was very good, but they were short-staffed so it took just a few minutes too long to get what we needed.

For dinner it was a mixed bag, but I would still recommend it to a friend. I would pick the entree carefully (no pickerel) and be sure to save room for lots of dessert :)

In terms of prices, honestly I didn't find it much different from most of our other dinners at nicer places in Banff and Jasper. And we spent quite a bit more at Walliser Stube in comparison. That's not to say it's not expensive, but rather that I found it par for the course for nicer dining in the Rockies.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyInCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“absolutely superb evening meal, but a lousy breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We ate here for two nights running, the food is superb , vegetables are cooked to perfection - that is to say 'Al Dente'. Meat was cooked extremely well, even something simple like chicken was spot on, and seasoned perfectly!
The deserts we had, were I believe, made on site, and again were delicious. The chef took obvious pride in attention to detail, and the fare was presented beautifully.
The portion sizes were absolutely right (that is to say smaller than the normal Canadian serving) but still more than adequate to satisfy! quality not quantity - again, the chef here has it down to a fine art!
There were a couple of things I felt could be improved: the first was that the best champagne they had was Veuve Clicquot, which is OK but... in a venue of this calibre, surely Krug or at least Perrier Jouet should be available!
The second was the waiter service - which on the first night was spot on, but on the second night was really quite poor, The waiter claimed to have been doing the job for four years but I really feel that the management should ensure their staff are trained to an appropriate level commensurate with the quality of the hotel.
Breakfast however was a disaster, the scrambled egg was rubbery, bacon had been incinerated to a degree that a cold-chisel would be required to cut it, and the whole thing had been simmering in the hot-plates for hours, even the coffee was bordering on undrinkable, and was a far cry (in taste) from the wonderful espresso coffees of the evenings.
I simply cannot understand how a hotel/restaurant of this quality can allow it's standards to slip so far for breakfast! I would urge anyone staying here to have the continental breakfast instead.
It is a great shame that the "cooked" breakfast casts a shadow over the evening experiences as I was extremely impressed with the chef's abilities to produce high quality, beautifully presented dishes; and in a restaurant with truly stunning vistas of the lake and mountains.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sometimewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moraine Lake Lodge also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing