We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but what a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairview

Fairview
Reserve with OpenTable
Fairview is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Savour the very best in contemporary Canadian cuisine at The Fairview. Stylish décor, spectacular views and attentive service create the perfect ambiance for a memorable dining experience at The Fairview.
Purduewriter91
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Expensive, but what a view!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hubby and I ate lunch here on the first day of our stay. We split the chicken (or was it turkey) sandwich with Brie, apples and red onion. It was amazing! They charged a nominal fee to split, but then we each had a small green salad for a side. I had a glass of wine ($14, I think). It was a very expensive lunch, but the food was good and the view is AMAZING! We sat at the bar. The bartender was a sweet girl.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Purduewriter91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    134
    49
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service and a view”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are coming to Banff looking for low priced food...don't bother. Learn to enjoy yourself in locations such as these.

Service: Some of the best we have ever experienced. Our server was wonderful. Watched her interaction with a rude customer at the table next to us and was incredibly impressed. She even filled our water bottle before leaving.

Food Quality: Excellent.

Food Quantity: You better show up hungry or just order an appetizer. There were three of us and we ordered two appetizers and left food on the table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank byoung57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pricey, but nice.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you must do the famous Fairmont High Tea, this is a terrific option. The views can't be beat! I will say that I was a little disappointed in the high tea service and food itself, but that reading about it being mediocre wouldn't have stopped me from wanting to experience THE Fairmont High Tea! If that is your goal, THIS is THE place to accomplish it! If not, just bring a picnic and enjoy the views!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
964 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We managed to get a window seat and had great views of the lake. The food was nice and the service was pleasant. Expensive, but you are paying for the location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So so food, great views”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As per my review of the Post House, if you want excellent food go there. The Fairview has stunning views of the lake (be sure to get a window seat). The food is good but will not live long in the memory - our appetizers were great - smoked steelhead trout and a beet salad. Mains were just ok - duck two ways was fatty (and not crispy), pork belly was too little. Deserts were the low light - impressively presented but heavy. At over $400 (which included two bottles of wine), it was an expensive meal for 2!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Padinphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairview also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing