We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, formal setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairview Dining Room

Fairview Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Fairview Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Savour the very best in contemporary Canadian cuisine at The Fairview. Stylish décor, spectacular views and attentive service create the perfect ambiance for a memorable dining experience at The Fairview.
Montana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food, formal setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently traveled to Lake Louise to ski and dined in the Fairveiw Room. The setting is very formal although we were not alone in being dressed in jeans and sweaters. The wine list is very good though not as good as the Post Hotel's. The sommelier was knowledgeable but was serving all 3 of the restuarants there at the hotel so unable to be very attentive. There were four of us that shared 2 starters which was plenty. We each had a different main course: lamb, salmon, duck, bison. The lamb was not very good though the accoutrents served with it were. All the other mains were very good, especially the duck. Our waitress was ok but definitely not up to par for the price of the meal which was quite high. If you want a truly gourmet experience with absolute 5 star service, go to the Post Hotel instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel4Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    128
    49
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We dined here one evening when it was very quiet with only a few tables booked. We were seated at a table with a wonderful view of the lake and skating rink and sculptures. The staff was very attentive and knew details about the menu. We had the scallops, ahi tuna and foi gras for starters which were all exceptional. For mains we had the elk strip loin which had the subtle wild/gamy taste and the beef tenderloin which was delicious. Overall a great dining experience and a bit pricy but its in the Chateau!

Helpful?
1 Thank SALOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good food but if you are one of those folks who dines out a lot, like me, you will find the pricing (even at this gem of a location) pricey.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PC800CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“sometimes it's not as great the second time around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our family of four returned to this restaurant on our last night of our stay at the Chateau - mostly because our daughter had enjoyed it so much last year. I guess this time our expectations were a bit too high. First off - oyster bisque is not really something kids want to dig into - so while it was "compliments of the chef" they were not interested.

My daughter found her pasta sauce to be very watery and while I know it was off the kids menu, it was not very good. My husband and I ordered the three course meal with wine paring - which was fine, however, I felt we were a bit rushed between our courses, so much so that you had to rush to fnish the wine given before digging into the next course.

Also, my husband ordered the lamb and I had to share some of my tenderloin meal with him as his plate was pretty sparse.

We may reconsider dining here during future visits to the hotel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great wine list and fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Fantastic dinner, great service, very classy. Great variety of choices, sea food, meats and fondues.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosQuesada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairview Dining Room also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fairview Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing