We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to avoid”
Review of Num-Ti-Jah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We have been in the national park of Banff and Jasper 9 days and the experience at Num-Ti-Jah Lodge was the worse.
We stay there one nigth. We booked a summer package, a 2 queen room including dinner, breakfast and hiker lunch (1 sandiwich, 1 fruit and some cockies) and we spent 490 canadian dollars(tax incl.). For this rate we expected a luxury accomodation.
The ground floor and the resturant room is nice, the dinner and breakfast are good, but the room disappointed us.
The room is little, without comfort (no TV, no air-conditioned), it was cold and the washroom was horrid! The employer aren't very attentive and kind.
So visit the lake and give a look to the lodge but avoid to stay there if you would not waste money.
A tip for other travellers, if you decide to stay in that area prefer to stay in Lake Louise, it isn't far from bow lake and offer very good accomodation: Fairmont for a luxury stay or Lake Louise INN to stay comfortable but saving money.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller_Bob_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

We spent one night here during our honeymoon and after the Westins and the Fairmonts it made an interesting change - full of character and history, friendly staff (probably the nicest we met in Canada), excellent food, and WHAT a setting. Granted, I agree with other reviewers that the rooms are dreadful (no air-con, paper-thin walls, uncomfortable bed) and I realise they charge a premium for their location - but we still fell for it. I would wholeheartedly encourage people to stay here but please be aware of what you're getting. I won't say I wasn't glad to be in a big chain hotel with a comfy bed the following night - but it didn't have one tenth of the charm of Num Ti Jah!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s13Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We booked one of the most expensive rooms at the Num-Ti-Jah - a room with a lake view, king bed & private bath for $310/night. What a disappointment. The view is nice but that's about it. I think they believe they can charge so much because they are the only lodging within Banff N.P. The place is very run down. We were on a bicycle and did not have the option of going on to the next lodging. On the return trip, we cancelled our reservation and cycled an additional 40 miles to Lake Louise.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldacura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Just returned from a four-night stay at Num-Ti-Jah. As others have stated, the lodge is in a beautiful location on Bow Lake. We selected it because of its location--not exactly halfway between Banff and Jasper, but as close as you can get. We paid $280/night. You'd think that for $280/night, you'd at least get breakfast. Think again. We paid $14 for French toast and very marginal service. We did not go back for dinner as the prices took away our appetites.

The lodge is nice and is about what you'd expect--old furniture, big fireplace. And it's nice to have a place to play board games and jigsaw puzzles--kinda gave you a "Dirty Dancing" feeling. But when you get to the rooms--UGH! We would've left immediately if there had been any place else to stay. Hard beds (they do have pretty good pillows, though), bedspreads that look like they've been there since the 70's, old dilapidated furniture, a bathroom a tad larger than on a cruise ship with a rickety tin shower and exposed pipes. We found lots of trash under the beds, so I don't think the room is cleaned thoroughly. Oh, and beware--don't plan on doing or saying ANYTHING that you don't want your neighbors to hear. I could actually hear the guy snoring next door, and when they woke up the next morning, I could hear the conversation as well as if they were in my room. So don't plan a honeymoon here unless you enjoy "sharing."

I don't know WHAT the owners spend their money on--it's obviously something else besides this lodge. The exterior is in dire need of painting and there is zero landscaping. Oh, and every tour bus stops here, so the parking lot is perpetually filled with lots of camera-toting people speaking a myriad of languages.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GamecockFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed 4 nights here at Num-Ti-Jah, an old lodge on the shore of Bow Lake. The location is excellent for exploring, being able to hike right from the door without using the car. Take the hike around the lake shore to the waterfall and glacier - excellent.
Our package include all our meals. Breakfast was good and plentiful and evening meals were excellent. We used the packed lunch facility on all but one day. The one we missed was promised for us for 6.30am - but was not available, so if you want to leave early one morning I would suggest you ask for the lunch to be available the night before!
As Num-Ti-Jah is an old lodge you have to expect it not to have some things. We very much appreciated the help we had to get our bags up to our room, 3 flights of stairs! The rooms are old and the furniture is also old but fits with the character of the place. The walls are thin so you here quite a bit if your neighbours are not that quiet.
We do recommend staying here and we enjoyed it very much and will be back for a return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nut_and_Bud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This is a historic lodge, built years ago. Of course, it's a bit rustic, the walls are thin, and the bathroom facilities are dated.

If those things bother you, there are plenty of chain motels all across the continent.

What Num Ti Jah offers is an authentic experience in a lodge built from logs decades ago when it was most difficult to reach this location. The cozy atmosphere in the common areas . . . the friendly guests and staff . . . the relaxed pace . . . the excellent meals . . . it all adds up to a most pleasant visit.

The setting on Bow Lake is stunning. Many rooms have great views. I've stayed there several times and I plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31,416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Num-ti-jah is situated in a beautiful location. Staff are friendly, the food in the restaurant is excellent with a reasonably priced wine list and the rooms are comfortable. It is such an interesting place, full of history & character and I would recommend Num-ti-jah to anyone wanting to stay in this area. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
21.2 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,755 reviews
21.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,430 reviews
21.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,046 reviews
28.5 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
884 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Crossing Resort
The Crossing Resort
#36 of 39 in Banff National Park
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Num-Ti-Jah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Num-Ti-Jah Lodge

Address: Mile 22 Icefields Parkway | P.O. Box 39, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $263 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Num-Ti-Jah Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge overlooks one of the most dramatic scenes in the Canadian Rockies. Out of Bow Lake the mountains rise steep and rugged. The blue ice of Crowfoot Glacier hangs suspended over the turquoise water. To the west, the craggy peaks of the Great Divide tower over Bow Glacier.Num-Ti-Jah Lodge is located 40 kilometres north of Lake Louise on Highway 93 in Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada. We are a three hour drive from the Calgary International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Num-Ti-Jah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Num-Ti-Jah Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing