We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location outweighs the expense”
Review of Num-Ti-Jah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our third run down the Icefields Parkway. previously we had avoided this lodge on the grounds of (over) price but we wanted to walk in the immediate area and so went for it this time round. We had a top floor room, which was not cramped, although the bathroom was rudimentary. The views, with the aid of a strategically placed mirror, were good. We decided to 'self cater' to defray the cost and managed OK. The staff were very friendly if inexperienced. it snowed while we were there - and the scenery looked even better in consequence. And the ambience is not like Lake Louise, Jasper or Banff: at Num-Ti-Jah one really is in the midst of the Rockies, not a coach-ridden town.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor to minimise the noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Num-ti-jah Lodge for a night while driving on the Icefield Highway. Staying at the lodge gives one the ability to readily get a jump on the people driving by who stop to hike up the scenic trail to the Bow Falls.

Clearly the attraction of this lodge is its location on Bow Lake with its beautiful scenery. Our room was number 20 which has a view of the Bow Glacier due to a cleverly placed mirror at the single window.

The room itself had comfortable beds but the key to a good night is the people in the next room as the walls are very thin with no soundproofing. We found that knocking on the wall alerted the people that they were making too much noise at night.

The food was very good. We had an elk burger and pork chops. The dining room is very rustic with mounted animal heads on the log walls. The view from the dining room of Bow Lake and the Bow Glacier is excellent. The included breakfast was good with a good range of choice.

In summary this lodge is like staying at your grandfather’s old cottage or farmhouse since little has changed with respect to the rooms since they were built in the 40s. The cost of a room reflects the location of the lodge and not the modernity of the room.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Bow Lake/Bow Glacier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night this August. We had been before just for a few minutes t see the views, but had wanted to be able to stay and fully enjoy the experience - we were not in the slightest bit disapointed, with the views and sunset and sunrise being out of this world!

Yes, the rooms are pricey if compared to to newer hotels in Banff or Lake Louise, however the history of the place more than makes up for this and the rooms are actually very comfortable and kept very clean.

We found the staff to be all extremely helpful and friendly and and the food we had for dinner and breakfast was excellent.

My son actually lost his favourite stuffed toy on leaving and on contacting the hotel, the staff did their best to find it (and ultimately did so) and we were bale to pick it up on our return.

I would certainly recommend this as a quite place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of an exceptional loaction (especially once the crowds have left for the day)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryEuph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having had three horrible (and horribly expensive) nights in Banff we moved further up the Icefield Parkway and werre cautious about out expectations of Num-Ti-Jah having read TA reviews.
It is simple. These guys have the ONLY lodging facilities within a 30km circle. They have a very charming, nice looking rustic lodge with one of the best views I've seen for a long time. They have loads of tourists passing by during two seasons. What would you do?

So you pay like at least 3x too much for the simple rooms. A Motel6 sign on the roof would definitely cover the comfort of the rooms although I would then go to front desk to complain about the rudimentary but functional bathroom! We had a wonderful sleep, something we did not get for three nights in Banff.

However, the hotel has an adequate dining room, staffed by too young inexperieced waiters. The food was pretty good, actually.

Further, it has a very enjoyable pool table relaxing chairs and picnic tables outside and lots, lots of stuffed animals throughout the building (if you like that). The shop and restaurant look good, but we saved our money.

The Num-Ti-Jah is what it is, a covered up Motel6 at a breathtaking location, but worth every $ if compared to the terrible, noisy, totally nature disconnecting, unfriendly equally overrpriced lodging at Banff or Lake Louise.

Would I stay again, Yes, I think I'd have to :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. It's a wooden building so you can hear everybody walking. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKnops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I were driving north from Lake Louise one afternoon when we came across Bow Lake and the Num-Ti-Jah Lodge. From the exterior, the lodge looks very romantic and sits on a beautiful lake with surrounding glaciers. DON'T LET THE EXTERIOR FOOL YOU LIKE IT DID US!! I have to agree with every negative review I have read on here, and after learning that the entire staff lives on the property and takes up an entire floor of the lodge; I am convinced that EVERY GUSHING AND GLOWING REVIEW ON THIS SITE IS WRITTEN BY THE STAFF.

Upon check-in, the manager hurried us over to dinner claiming that the kitchen was closing, but after talking with our server, we were told different times for the dining room and turns out we would have had plenty of time to head to our room and not be rushed. They were even still sitting people when we were finished with dinner. Since there is nothing else close by, you pretty much have to eat at the lodge. The food was average; I ordered the bison burger, and although the meat was tasty, it was served on a stone cold bun. The dining area and downstairs common area have an old well-kept lodge feel and clearly this is where the effort is made to give the appearance of a nice lodge. Once you get up to the rooms, there is a much different story. After dinner, we had to drive back to Lake Louise to use the internet since there is no signal at the lodge. We arrived back to the lodge and headed to our room only to be very disappointed to find that the room had the most dreadful smell. It was the vivid scent of strong urine and it was not coming from the very run down and very small bathroom. It was coming from the room itself and smelled like someone had urinated all over the very old carpeted floor. The room itself was not very clean as there was dust all over the furniture, we could not believe they could charge as much as they do for the rooms! The view of the lake from our room was obstructed by a large vent. We tried to make the best of it and hoped the smell would weaken as our noses would get used to the smell, but this never happened. All night we could smell the terrible scent, and even in the morning it was still overbearing. We couldn't leave fast enough the next day, and we refused to eat breakfast there as to not give them another cent!

The best thing about this place is the view, which you can get for free. Don't waste your money on this place, and stay somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in any of the rooms. Very run down and dingy, with horrible smell. Not worth the exorbit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AngieWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lake Louise booked up and want a very similar experience? You might stay at the Simpson Resort Num Ti Jah Lodge which has a first class lodge with high end rooms and a fine dining restaurant with a wide menu and a fair selection of wines. Look over Bow Lake toward Bow Falls and the Glacier and you might well believe you are at Lake Lousies only not a busy and tourist walked ove. There is a superior trail up to the falls and you can look up over a hundred feet to see where Clagary gets is water from. The Columbia Ice Field and arm leading to the Bow River is as spectacular as any glacier view in the Rockies. The resort is seasonal however and hence does not offer winter activities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingsinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were tempted by the location and history of the lodge to stay for one night here - despite the exorbitant rates charged. As this was near the end of the holiday we thought we would splurge out to treat ourselves. Unfortunately the whole experience proved to be disappointing and we would advise others not to stay or eat here.

The rooms are primitive by modern standards but that was not the main problem for us. The reviewer who commented that the place is run like a European Youth Hostel has got it right. You are told when you can have dinner and breakfast as large groups are first accommodated. This is not done with charm. We were very disappointed by the evening meal as had been led to believe that this would be a fine dining experience which was far from the truth. I struggled to eat the ravioli and gave up when it made me feel sick. My husband did not enjoy his meal either. My complaint about my meal was met with hostility by the dining room supervisor - we were given a 6 dollar discount but hardly sufficient.

As previous reviewers have said customer service and value for money are poor here. They are milking a cash cow because of the location - don't fall into the trap! My advice would be to park your car, look into the lodge, do the hike but DON'T stay unless you have money to throw away.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anneduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
21.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,431 reviews
21.2 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,756 reviews
21.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,056 reviews
28.5 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
887 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Crossing Resort
The Crossing Resort
#36 of 39 in Banff National Park
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Num-Ti-Jah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Num-Ti-Jah Lodge

Address: Mile 22 Icefields Parkway | P.O. Box 39, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $263 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Num-Ti-Jah Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge overlooks one of the most dramatic scenes in the Canadian Rockies. Out of Bow Lake the mountains rise steep and rugged. The blue ice of Crowfoot Glacier hangs suspended over the turquoise water. To the west, the craggy peaks of the Great Divide tower over Bow Glacier.Num-Ti-Jah Lodge is located 40 kilometres north of Lake Louise on Highway 93 in Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada. We are a three hour drive from the Calgary International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Num-Ti-Jah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Num-Ti-Jah Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing