We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.08*
and up
Banff Sunrise Photography Workshop
Ranked #6 of 30 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

stayed one night as part of a tour. The room was nice and had a spectacular view of the lake. I didn't care for the toiletries, Rose is the name but they had a medicinal smell to me. The staff were very nice and accommodating. For lunch we chose the Fairmont Pantry and had soup and a sandwich which were both very good. Buy a coffee to go and get free refills all day, they don't always tell you this so ask if its still available. We had dinner in the western themed restaurant and it was excellent (Prime rib). I can recommend this hotel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyKrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    263
    102
    23
    15
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All 10 of us enjoyed our week at the Fairmont.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We all had gold floor rooms and used the lounge and concierge every day to help plan activities. They were very helpful, the rooms were spacious and comfortable,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moonriver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is very expensive to stay here, I'd suggest staying down the block at Deer Lodge and having dinner here one night. We ate on the patio with a view of the glacier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank oliviajohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and view!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had an excellent and quite reasonable drink and lunch on the terrace overlooking the Lake.
Service was wonderful as well. It was a beautiful day and we walked among the flowers along the lakefront. Too many tour groups and business meetings for us to want to stay there, but don't miss it for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grayray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dream canoeing...”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our last stop on our 25th anniversary trip - 2 nights at Chateau Lake Louise. We both dreamed of canoeing the emerald green waters of this Canadian icon and we were not disappointed! If you want to feel the trueness of this place you have to get out on the water.

We also hiked to the Lake Agnes tea house -- very nice. And just walking the grounds and down the trail beside the lake was fantastic. Many, many photos taken.

We ate at the Walliser Stube the first night - we both had the steak and, for dessert, the chocolate mousse - yum, yum, yum! The second night we ate at the Saloon. We ordered the Skillet sampler - OMG! -- too much yummy food for 2 people. The Deli is also a great option - try the cream puff - it's to die for!

The hotel knew it was our anniversary and left a bottle of bubbly in our suite on day one - a lovely touch and a part of the character of excellent service. All staff were super friendly, happy and helpful - thank you for making us feel so welcome.

On the negative side: Our room was upgraded to a junior suite -- not much of an upgrade - no air conditioning, furniture was worn (holes in it) - we had expected more from this prestigious hotel. Guest services were very helpful and understanding. We had a portable air conditioner brought to the room to help cool things down. The first unit was broken and left a large pool of water on the floor and rug and didn't cool anything down. We quickly received a new unit which worked very well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing