We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.52*
and up
Hop-On and Hop-Off Banff Bus
Ranked #10 of 33 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ascend to one of Banff National Park’s most incredible views where grizzly bears and other local wildlife are seen almost daily! From the top at 2088m (6850ft) the gondola ride is only the start of your adventure. Make your way to the viewing platform for a panoramic view that will take your breath away. Afterwards visit our free Wildlife Interpretive Centre where Interpretive Programs are offered daily, including indoor presentations. A variety of guided interpretive walks are also available daily for all fitness levels. Hungry, no problem! There are five unique restaurants located on-site that are sure to please! Dine on one of our famous patios or indoors. The choice is yours. Free parking is never an issue. We have plenty of free parking for your car or RV conveniently located just outside of the
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We hesitated going here as we thought it might be too touristy. We are so glad we stopped. we enjoyed the buffet lunch with the lift ticket and it was quick, plain, plentiful and inexpensive with options to please all in the group. The highlight was seeing the bears from the gondola and the informative talk at the interpretation centre at the top. We had not expected to see bears as everywhere we went to see bears we didn't. So it was lovely to be able to watch them from the ride.

2  Thank FamilyoffourBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"chair lift"
in 111 reviews
"ski lift"
in 76 reviews
"grizzly bear"
in 91 reviews
"interpretive center"
in 42 reviews
"open chairs"
in 15 reviews
"breakfast package"
in 15 reviews
"open chairlift"
in 23 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 13 reviews
"nice ride"
in 17 reviews
"buffet lunch"
in 18 reviews
"electric fence"
in 13 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 13 reviews
"amazing views"
in 42 reviews
"black beans"
in 29 reviews
"views of the mountains"
in 14 reviews
"coming down"
in 11 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 18 reviews
Filter

912 - 916 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Five of us had the breakfast and gondola package. The breakfast buffet was so-so, but OK value for the price. We got to see the bears going up and going down. Nice, but not as impressive as the Banff gondola.

1  Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We opted for the lunch & gondola package and really enjoyed the experience. The buffet lunch is ok, but it's good value for money is considering it's only $7 extra. We spotted a grizzly bear whilst eating lunch and another one the way down the chair lift, which was an amazing experience! If the weather is good I'd recommend choosing the chair lift over the gondola, as it's lovely being out in the open for the 14-minute ride up and down. The views from the top are fantastic and the staff at the little exhibition were very friendly. Recommended!

1  Thank Marte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family and I took the Gondola last week (June 2013) and it was one of the highlights of my trip. We tried the closed gondolas and the open chair lifts and I have to say the open lifts were amazing and so much fun. The view at the top was breathtaking and we were lucky enough to see two grizzly bears on the way up! The staff were brilliant, very friendly and asked how our ride up and down was and seemed genuinely interested in what you had to say. We paid sometihing like an extra $7 for the lunch buffet which was also brilliant, we sat outside with a view of the mountains whilst eating - what can top that! I wanted to go up and down again and again! Such an awesome day highly recommened it. We also did the Banff Gondola but preffered this one out of the two!

2  Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello Chloe,

Thank you for sharing your experience of the sightseeing gondola. We are very happy to hear that you considered your Gondola ride one of the highlights of your trip. It is fantastic when visitors are able to observe wild Grizzlies from the safety of the chairlift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We took the gondola up after breakfast( well worth the money to include breakfast). It wasent busy so we were in the gondola just after 9 am. Our first bear spotting was a black bear eating gras. Just a few minuts after we saw two grizzlys. So when we came up to the top we were very satisfied. The information center was great, and the view from the top is exelent.
So for us( a family of 3 ) the trip was just amazing..

2  Thank Beate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello Beate,

Thank you very much for your review. Congratulation on your bear sightings! To see both a Grizzly and Black Bear is fantastic! It is great to hear your family was able to enjoy such a uniquely Canadian experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing